Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I love this one. I subbed half of the water with chicken broth as recommended by others and I also added a ham hock. I season mine with parsley flakes, garlic salt, and pepper, all to taste. Maybe a teaspoon of each? I never measure. I add in bay leaves as well (2-3). Fantastic comfort food. Serve with fresh warmed french bread and butter. MMMmmm. Great comfort food dish. I've made it also with pinto beans which is also very tasty, but admittedly, those cause more, um, well issues! lol Enjoy this dish! I have made it many times. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
not bad but next time i will wait to add the carrots and the potatoes and they were too soft for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I had some leftover ham from Christmas and decided to try this recipe. We loved, loved, loved this. I used canned navy beans instead of waiting to soak and soften navy beans and also omitted the celery since I do not like celery in soups that much. I also added a bit of flake salt, fresh ground pepper and 2 bay leaves. The flavor was just amazing and my husband told me that this was one of the best soups that I have ever made and we have been married for 32 years and I cook a lot! I did put everything in a crock pot and let it simmer for about 6 1/2 hours. Yummy!!! Make sure you add the bay leaves it really vamps up the taste. Oops, forgot to mention that I also used vegetable broth instead of plain water. Great soup will be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
EXCELLENT! EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I doubled this as I had a HUGE ham bone left over from Christmas dinner, and I left out the potatoes since I used them all for the big meal. :) Doubt I would need them as a thickener as the beans cooked up so smooth and so creamy that each mouthful is just dreamily delicious. The only things I added was bay leaves and a bundle of fresh thyme, sage and rosemary, all of which I removed at the end of cooking. No chicken broth as I thought the taste would be unnoticeable and, therefore, a waste of money. Tomatoes might have been good a good addition and were included in other similar recipes on this site, but I didn't have any on hand and I think they would have made for a very different soup. I used lots of fresh cracked pepper, but no salt as the ham contributed its share. I soaked the beans over night and then cooked on the stove top at a very low flame for about 6 hours - stirring every half hour or so. I could have used a slow cooker, but it had just gone back into the appliance closet after its duty keeping the mashed potatoes warm on Christmas day, and I was feeling a bit lazy. OK, I saved a 10 foot walk, but I but I really hate washing pots and pans by hand. So I just cooked the beans in the same pot in which they soaked. But when all is said and done, this was the best bean soup I have ever eaten much less made myself. Since it made such a lot, I froze a significant portion and will report back on how it freezes and reheats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Delicious! I used smoked turkey instead of ham. I will make anytime I have extra turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made a lot of changes. Omitted the ham and did not used dried beans. Lightly sauteed the carrot, celery, one potato, one Knorr chicken boullion cube and onion, then added one can of bean with bacon soup with two cans of water. Let this cook up a bit and then blended with a hand blender until 3/4 smooth. After blending, added one can of drained navy beans. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Added a chicken boullion cube, two bay leaves, 1 tsp salt, and subbed a little pan-fried procciutto and de-skinned and chunked pork bratwurst. Pureed about 2-3 cups of the soup (all but the meat bits). Served with biscuits. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Tried to add seasoning, but no luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Enochs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rhinebeck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Delish! I have been adding 2 cans chicken broth & 2 bay leaves every time, and also garlic powder when I remember. (We make this at least once every 6 weeks- more in the cold months.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States