Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
My family liked it but not enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Took 2 days to cook in my cheap crock pot, but the soup was great. I made it all organic and it was worth the extra cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
A great tasting soup plus it is super easy. I cooked mine about 14 hours in the crock pot to get the beans really soft and the soup thick. I thought about adding a ham hock but didn't, deciding it would only add more fat. The flavor of the soup was great without it. I did add a few teaspoons of ham soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Anything that I can get my 2 year old to have 3 helpings of, gets 5 stars! I too added a ham hock and some extra salt. The results were FAB! My husbnad enjoyed it over his cornbread. Definatley will keep this recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
It was easy, and a good base, but I found it bland. The bay leaves suggested did help a bit, but perhaps next time I'll add some peppers, or use chicken stock like another poster suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Wonderful taste and very easy! I added a ham hock and more salt based on the other reviews. I also added sliced carrots instead of shredded. We served over cornbread. This was a big hit in my house. It turned out very creamy. Wonderful dish for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Made it for the 2nd time. Used 1 lb of mixed beans again instead of navy beans and this time I steamed a cottage roll and used the ham broth and cubed cottage roll meat Result was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My husband stated this was the best bean soup he had ever eaten. I love the ease of preparation. I did add a ham hock for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was really good comfort food and I served it over cornbread (the store mixes). I followed others advice and added 1 tbsp of pepper and 1 tsp salt and two bay leaves. I actually did this only 1.5 hours before it was ready b/c I tasted it and thought it was bland, and then read the suggestions. It turned out tasty, but alil thick. Next time I will add 7 C of water like some previous suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I did not soak the beans at all, just rinsed them and then put them in the crock-pot and they turned out soft and creamy. I did take the suggestions from other reviewers and added 2 bay leaves to the pot and I added about a teaspoon of salt but I think it could have used even more.I was afraid of over-salting since I used 2 ham steaks for the ham and those tend to be salty. Next time I try this I think I might try substituting chicken broth for the water for a little extra flavor. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States