Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by deb1175
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
An easy recipe! My first time cooking bean soup/and using dry beans as well! My family really liked this recipe. It was really tasty with a crumbled up corn muffin mixed in- Yum! I added a couple of bay leaves and some salt and pepper as was suggested in other reviews. I also, for time's sake, finished it up on the stove top. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb1175

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was some SERIOUSLY tasty ham & beans!! I made it twice and the first time was a bit bland so the second time I took some other reviewers suggestions and used chicken broth instead of water (I used 2 cans) and put in 2 bay leaves. It was HEAVENLY. I couldn't get enough. I used a small turkey ham to cut back on cals/fat and it was delish. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAmyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
A good soup to have anytime, I did not salt like it said and it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I took souper saras’ advice and added 4 chicken bouillon cubes ( or 4 tsp Chicken granules). I think that fact alone gave a bland soup a terrific flavor.I added 3 poor quality ham hocks that were all fat and bone. If you can find a good quality ham hock that might contrubute to a better flavor. My wife wouldn’t let me add milk to the batch like grandmother used to so I added milk to my bowl and kicked up the flavor another notch for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper Sara
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
As suggested by other reviewers, I jazzed mine up a bit, for fear of it being too bland. I added 7 cups of water, 3 medium sized ham hocks, along with the 2 cups cubed ham, 2 bay leaves, 1 Tbsp salt, 1 tsp pepper, 4 chicken bouillon cubes, and the leaves from the celery. I let it cook on high in my crock pot for 10 hours. I wished I could have let it cook on low for 18 hours or so as some reviewers suggested, but I just didn’t have the time. Luckily, I didn’t matter! Yummy! (Only a little salty – next time I’ll add only 1 tsp of salt with the ham hocks) It went great with some Jiffy cornbread, and passed the boyfriend test with flying colors! (He said it was BETTER than mom used to make!) I’m giving the recipe 3 stars due to the lack of spices. However the reviewers get 5 stars because I don’t think it would have been nearly as good without their recommendations. Overall it averages out at four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Extremely bland, even after adding salt, pepper, thyme, bay leaves and season salt AND cooking it for close to 18 hours, I was extremely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
My family liked it but not enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Took 2 days to cook in my cheap crock pot, but the soup was great. I made it all organic and it was worth the extra cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
A great tasting soup plus it is super easy. I cooked mine about 14 hours in the crock pot to get the beans really soft and the soup thick. I thought about adding a ham hock but didn't, deciding it would only add more fat. The flavor of the soup was great without it. I did add a few teaspoons of ham soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Anything that I can get my 2 year old to have 3 helpings of, gets 5 stars! I too added a ham hock and some extra salt. The results were FAB! My husbnad enjoyed it over his cornbread. Definatley will keep this recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States