Grandma Betty's Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
LOVED it so much, then had to make another one for company!!! AWESOME! Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Fabulous! I used Oreos instead of the buttery crackers. I Only used 3/4 cup butter with the Oreos since they have the filling. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panini goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is hands down the BEST home made ice cream cake ever! It's the birthday standard in our house, though I have to say i've never really followed the recipe exactly! I usually use graham crackers (regular or chocolate) for the crust and have made the filling with lots of different flavors of ice cream. Mint chocolate chip with a chocolate crust has been the favorite so far. It's a great recipe for kids and creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I have been making this recipe for 20 years. It is wonderfull although dream whip is better in this recipe than cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAM9196

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Almont, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
My Mother in law made a recipe similar to this for us. This was the closest recipe I could find online. I may try to submit a new one for this. Try it this way for a twist. Leave out the sugar from the crust, you don't need it. Instead of vanilla pudding, use pistachio. You get the sweet from the pudding, ice cream and whipped topping and then you get the salty from the buttery crackers (if you leave the sugar out). PERFECT combination!!! I think i may have eaten 1/2 of the pan myself. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRIAM01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I used Nilla wafers mixed with butter for the crust. I've made this twice, using all natural Breyer's ice cream - once with vanilla and once with chocolate - they were both delicious. Put the cake in the freezer though, otherwise it is more like a pudding pie. It doesn't get too hard in the freezer. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was so good except it took until the next day to actually be set up and not a mess. I added reeses cups to the ice cream. My family went crazy over it, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
All I have to say is I love you Grandma Betty! This is an absolutely phenomenal ice cream cake (move over Dairy Queen. I used the basic recipe but then tweeked it to suit my tastes. I used a oreo cookie bottom and then added some homemade rasberry/blackberry sauce. I put the ice cream on top and instead of using whipped cream I crumbled a chocolate cake on top mixed with toasted peacans and some ice cream chocolate sauce. Then I drizzled the top with butterscotch ice cream topping. This cake was divine. I will never need to buy an ice cream cake again. The beauty of this recipe is that you can keep it simple or make it complicated and it is still incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
All-time summer favorite at our house. I use low-fat everything in the recipe with a chocolate graham cracker crust. Plus, I freeze the whole cake so it is more "ice cream" than "pudding" consistency. I love it with fresh berries, my husband loves it as just plain vanilla. Gets rave reviews! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
A very easy recipe. I adapted to fit my family due to my children being allergic to nuts. I used 1 package butterscotch and 1 package vanilla pudding. I didn't mix any candy bars inside. Instead I opted to spinkle the top with a mixture of graham cracker crumbs and crushed butterscotch morsels...YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States