Grandma Bellows' Lemony Shrimp Macaroni Salad with Herbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Delicious! Love the lemon flavor! Cooked my own shrimp. Used some Miracle Whip as well...personal preference. Wonderful summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This salad was a hit with hubby and coworkers. Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I could eat this salad everyday. I made this for 4th of July. I love anything that's lemony so I figured I'd try. Although I omitted the celery cause I hats that crunchiness in a soft salad but I replaced it with celery salt. And I did end up using much more Mayo.. I used the olive oil Mayo. I didn't care for the canned shrimp next time I will try fresh or leave it out all together... it didn't even need it with the lemon dill and celery salt flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livingdedgurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Good but not outstanding... Unlike other reviewers, I couldn't taste the lemon at all. Will make again but I think I'll use cut-up regular-sized shrimp instead and maybe add a little bit of shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Betterton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is quite possibly the BEST pasta salad I've EVER had! I followed this exactly and it turned out fabulous. The only change was I used frozen cocktail shrimp instead of canned. I used a little less low fat mayo. The salad is delicious and creamy but not heavy, unlike other mayonnaise pasta salad recipes. Everybody I've served it to says it's outstanding! Update: Subbed shrimp for canned tuna and it turned out equally good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Good, but the lemon overpowered the other flavors. I couldn't really taste the shrimp at all. If I cut back on the lemon a bit I think it will be a better balance of flavors, so i will try again using less fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Make it the day before. When I first tasted it after mixing everything together, the lemon was a little overwhelming. The next day it was perfect. Instead of canned shrimp I used small frozen salad shrimp. I also used 1/2 regulary mayo and 1/2 vegannaise and the non-vegans at our bbq where raving and didn't taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is very good. The lemon flavor is really nice, and the combination of the dill and shrimp and egg works well. The celery amount seems fine to me, but I did find that I wanted a bit more flavor in addition to the lemon. After the first spoonfuls, I added Old Bay and a bit more dill which helped. For me, it still needed a little something for a contrast. We added some very sharp shredded Colby which did the trick for us. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Bland - not enough lemon..............not a fan of this recipie at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was the best pasta salad I have ever put in my mouth. Made it almost exactly as directed except for had to use dry dill and also used fresh cooked shrimp. Even my husband who hates macaroni salad liked it. Thanks for my new macaroni salad recipe. It's going to get showed off a lot this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States