Grandaddy's Sweet Potato Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chelle Belle
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Exceptionally awesome! The meringue on top is a nice, sweet change over having whipped cream. We absolutely loved it! I will use this recipe over and over again, and plan to make it a new tradition to my family as well. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Gorgeous presentation and amazing taste! This one always impresses guests :) It is an authentic South Carolina recipe of my grandfather's and he is begged to make it for every familly get-together. Turns out beautifully every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chinachewy
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Awesome!!! My co-workers loved this! A few things I will change though: 4 large eggs instead of medium eggs. Also, add a teaspoon of cornstarch to the sugar before mixing to minimize the weeping (syrup drops on top) of the meringue. But this was awesome!!! I just dipped a spoon in the meringue and pulled up to create the cute peaks. =) THANKS for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chinachewy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I have always been a fan of sweet potato pie, but this recipe tops them all. I predict that this recipe will be a family favorite handed down for generations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!!! I made this for thanksgiving and my family is begging me to make it again for Christmas. So yummy!!! I think I will use a pre baked crust this time though....my roll out crust wasn't strong enough to hold the mixture after baked and it fell apart as I was serving it. Still delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I had a similar (or the same) sweet potato pie which I was a child traveling with my family. I've been looking for the recipe ever since. Thank you for posting this. I made it as a pudding - no crust, no meringue. Used 1/2 c. agave nectar instead of sugar. Still could use less sweetener if desired. I'm now almost 72 years old and my long search for this recipe is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I am going to make this for Thanksgiving. The only change I will make is to cream the butter and sugar for about 5 minutes before adding other ingredients. I think this incorporates the sugar better. Can't wait to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I never thought I'd say this but I think next time I'll use less sugar! 3/4 c makes it very sweet. But it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made it on christmas eve to eat it on christmas day, but overnight the meringue released some liquid sugar and it got the crust a bit wet... Do you think next time i should just bake the crust and filling, a add the meringue the next morning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States