Grand Marnier Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eagle A
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe quite a bit, though the next time I make it (and we agreed that it was definitely tasty enough to ensure there will be a next time - with a few modifications). The only real changes I made this time was adding some orange zest & roasted garlic & onion powders to the sauce as well as the breading mix. For a side dish I just made rice, but I used chicken broth instead of water for the rice and added a tablespoon (or so) of orange zest. It came out wonderfully. When I make this next time, I'll reduce the oil in the sauce (use less than the 1/4 suggested), it was overpoweringly oily tasting some bites. I'll use frozen concentrated OJ instead of fresh next time to add more orange flavor (and add a bit more to make up for the less oil). I also don't think I reduced the sauce as much as I should have (I did reduce it to half the original but it never seemed to coalesce), so I’ll try and be patient. One other odd thing was that the orange slices seemed to soak up a lot of the alcohol in the dish, so each bite of the orange itself was a bit overwhelming. I believe the prep timing is off on this recipe (it says 15 minutes but it took that long just to slice and soak the chicken, not to mention the breading & frying), I don’t think the reduction is taken into account. I was reducing for more than 20 minutes before I got impatient and decided to move things along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
While I thought this was a very nice dish and would happily recommend it to others, I do have a recipe for a Grand Marnier Chicken that I like better. I seasoned the chicken with garlic powder, along with the S&P called for. I could not bring myself to fry this in an entire cup of olive oil, so just put a touch of EVOO in the pan, sauteed/browned the chicken and it worked fine. Used a pat of butter, in place of the missing olive oil, for the wine, broth, OJ reduction. If I make it again, I think I'd like to do what reviewer EagleA suggested and use OJ concentrate, rather than OJ, for more intense orange flavor. Thanks so much for the recipe, Nurse24HR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I was actually looking for a recipe to finish the turkey portion I "overbought" the day before and I had a taste for orange. This recipe turned out to be the perfect solution. I tried it again with chicken and I can confirm that it is indeed the BEST chicken recipe ever! This mix of parmesan, orange and chicken just seem like it was meant to fit together. Try it out, you won't regret! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francois

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
***** Great ***** Will Do again - No Question about it. The Best Chicken Breast recipe that I have found. (Try using "Tenders") The Reducing takes some time, and should be figured into the Time alotments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
YUM! This was delicious. I used four chicken breasts (I didn't cut them up into smaller tenders) and I browned them in 3 tablespoons of olive oil. A full cup seemed like way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Excellent recipe. Thank you so much. Made it for a dinner party with a trained chef. She loved it. As did everyone else. My husband was a little aprehensive about the orange juice and wine but said it was really tasty. Plenty of breading mix for the number of chicken breasts. Will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This has become a staple in my house since I discovered it a year or so ago - but I just realized that I had never rated it. Over time I have adapted it to make the breading a little easier, and realized that thesauce is even better with southern comfort. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
The reduction did take a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This recipe is a HUGE hit and very easy to prep. Reduction sauce time can be cut down a little by using frozen concentrate OJ instead of regular Orange Juice. Recipe is easily prepared ahead of time and can be covered and left in fridge 1-2 days. Transports easily, keeping Grand Marnier off until last minute. I prepare this at home in my kitchen with my utensils, then take it to my husband's firehouse to bake. They love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Excellent chicken. I was trying to find something really good to make for my daughters wedding reception. I made it twice. The second time I substituted orange juice concentrate for the orange juice. it gave it a little more orange flavor. I bought a cheaper brand of the orange flavored brandy. I bought a less expensive version of Grand Marnier, instead of $35 a bottle it cost me $21.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grand Marnier Soufflé

See how to make an airy and impressive but surprisingly simple dessert.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States