Grand Margarita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
If you are use the the fake Margaritas (Limeaide based), then you will not like this. This is the authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I though it was too sour and diluted. While tequila LOVES sour, and Cointreau adds sweetness, I highly recommend cutting out the water, cutting way down on the Cointreau, and adding some agave nectar or simple syrup to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Geisler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Not too bad, but I used a cheap tequila-normally I do use a good tequila-Tarantula, 1800, Patron,but I prefer Cabo Wabo. I know it's expensive, but the best tequila makes the best margaritas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYRudy
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This happends to be the original Margarita Cocktail recipe. Combine lime, cointreau and tequila with ice in a shaker, shake for 1 mintute, serve up with salt, required. Its ridiculously good, nothing like you'll ever have at any bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYRudy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pico Rivera, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is my understanding of the classic recipe - and it is wonderful. The tequila MUST be 100% agave (Patron is), and I personally prefer anejo, with it's additional flavor. Another note, to soften a little, replace some of the freshly squeezed lime juice with freshly squeezed lemon juice - but no more that 1/2...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kingfish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
couldnt make these fast enough for the crowd (of french people!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I never thought of a margarita as having a complex flavor...but lime juice and water isn't (to me) a margarita. We tried these because of the fresh ingredients, but something is missing here. (We're 'on-the-rocks' folks; no frozen for us.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is the second time I make this drink and I definetely love it, specially since there is not additional sugar other than the one that the tequila and the cointreau already have which means to me "pure flavor".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Fresh lime juice is the secret. I disagree with the bartender who recommends Cuervo -- I've slowly come to believe that the people who order Patron silver margaritas are not idiots wasting fine tequila. It's great for margaritas. A cheaper alternative might be Sauva Hornitos. My personal favorite is Herradura, but like the reviewer who is a restaurant owner and bartender, it can be a waste. Good tequila is like good wine, and you don't have to slam it like a college kid to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

How to Make a Margarita

See how to make the best homemade margaritas.

Jalapeno and Cucumber Margarita

Spicy & refreshing, this amazing marg’s infused with hot pepper & cool cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States