Gram's Snow Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used peacons and added 2 teaspoons of almond extract insted of vanilla. The almond extract was a huge boost in flavor, otherwise they are just kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I followed all instructions but dough very dry I added 1 egg. The cookies are very good and easy to make. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I don't understand the bad reviews. These were fantastic and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These were great. After reading some of the other reviews I was a little leery but thought it was worth a shot. They turned out fabulous, way yummy. I would just warn what may have happened to one of the reviewers it is didn't ball up--DON'T melt the butter. Use the same method you would do a pie crust. Cut the butter into the flour and other ingredients. Thanks B. Bell...this is one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieD319

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
It never would thicken to where I could roll it in balls. I was able to salvage it by finding a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These are great to make, especially if you have a good electric mixer with a paddle. It literally took minutes to mix and was fun for the grandchildren to help with. I have made these in the past with pecans, peppermint candies(crushed) chocolate chips(minis) but the wasnuts are my favorites. I made a double recipe last night and not one was left tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianemar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~KC~formally YoungCook
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I changed a few things on this recipe to make it the way my grandmother made them. With these changes i assure you, you cant go wrong. the directions are a little vague so here is my way. i mixed 2 1/2 cups of flour with 1/2tsp salt and set aside. then i mixed 1cup of butter with 1 egg white and 1 1/2tsp vanilla. Then i added 1/3cup of powder sugar(aka confectioner's sugar) then i added the flour mixture and 1/2-1cup of finely chopped walnuts. i rolled them into small balls, a little smaller than a golfball and baked them at 400F (205c) for 8-10min then i rolled them in more powder sugar (confectioner's sugar) to coat. these are great cookies with a slight crumble. full of flavor if you fallow the changes i made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~KC~formally YoungCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This is also my favorite, but I use chocolate chip instead of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
These have become my favorite! I just ate about 10! I can't keep my hands out of the cookie tin. My daughter helped me make them, they are very simple, and simply delicious. As a co-worker exclaimed, "they just explode in your mouth!" We rolled them twice in the powdered sugar to really make them "snowy". I am so glad I came across this recipe. It will be a part of my Christmas portfolio now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States