Gram's Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Amount of baking soda has been updated to 2 teaspoons as originally submitted. We apologize for the error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have loved this recipe in years past but is has evolved in to something even better over the last few years. First off, I mistakenly used evaporated milk once instead of sweetened condensed milk and it made a vast improvement - now I always do it. It makes it moist, decadently dense and a smidge less sweet, which I prefer. I also like to double this recipe and cook it in my grandmother's bundt pan (adding about 20 minutes to the cooking time) and I find that a water bath helps keep it moist and uncracked. This year I've had to cut out gluten but didn't want to cut out this holiday favorite. To replace the flour I used 1/2 Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour, 1/4 Tapioca Flour and 1/4 Sorghum Flour plus 2 tsp of xanthum gum. Other additions: a jigger of brandy cream, 1/4 tsp nutmeg. 1/4 tsp cloves. My family loves this and fondly refers to it as Piggy Pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. Probably the best pudding I have ever made! It got rave reviews from everyone in my family. It was moist, light, a little chewy on the edges, not too sweet yet flavoursome. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Loved it! Never cooked with persimmons before and this was the first recipe I tried and it was a big hit! Was really great with vanilla ice cream and hot fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
MMMM!!! This was great!! I had never had a persimmon before last week, and I saw some and wanted to try one. Then I had 3 left over and looked on AR...I really enjoyed this!! I had a carton of cream, and I put in about 1/2 cup of whole cream to make sure it would be really moist! Great sweet buttery taste!!MMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondamich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
WOW! I did not expect this to taste so great! I was kind of weary at first with the SCM because I don't really care for it, but it's not too sweet. This pudding is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt jemima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is a delicious dessert. I found that after a few days it was even better. Keep in the fridge and warm it up before you eat..with a scoop of vanilla ice cream..deeeelicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soycarlalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was amazing!! It was moist, not too sweet... what a great way to use up persimmons from our tree. Thank you for the recipe. I'm making it again this week and might even make extra to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I ended up with two large bags of persimmons so I tried five different persimmon bread/pudding recipes from this site and this recipe was the winner (to be served Christmas Eve)! First, I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out great. The second time I made it, I added one TB of soy milk, substitued 1/8 cup of wheat germ for i/8 cup of the flour, and added two TBS of brandy. This also turned out great. I baked it in a buttered and floured pie dish, then unmolded it and dusted it with powdered sugar. On Christmas Eve, I'll serve it with brandied whipped cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I guess the updated recipe works... mine turned out moist and cinnamony and perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States