Gram's Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was a good base to jump from. Instead of water and powdered beef, I added a can of condensed beef boullion (soup) and a can of condensed consumé soup. And then I went crazy because I had some things to get rid of, so I added about 2 oz of saké and half a can of poutine sauce (similar to chicken gravy) that were taking up space on my counter. Usually when I start throwing things in like that, it ends up tasting like a mistake -- but not this time. It's absolutely delicious. So I gave myself 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Shaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vulcan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I haven't even finished cooking it yet, but it smells wonderful. I tasted it and it was absolutely delightful. The sage reminds me of Thanksgiving Day when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was pretty good but I think the addition of an Irish stout would have put this over the top! The husband said it could have been thicker but that was my fault for not adding more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Thank you Kel67. Great recipe. Tried it, and just keep on making it. Would not change a thing. Your Gram's cooking is what keeps the memories alive. Keep up the good work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was a Great recipe, my family loved it. I did tweek it a little, I added 2 cups more of broth, and I substituted the wine with a little broth (have small kids), I also added some celery flakes, and some frozen pees. other than that it was a Great dish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I found this recipe very basic but with a little creativity it was very good. I added some of my own spices and the cook time is also off I ended up cooking on high for 6 hours. But in the end it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I found this pretty flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe. The cooking time is way off. Had to move it to a pot on the stove to finish cooking it to have it for a supper that was later than I planned. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Cook time was way off and needed to add more cornstarch that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States