Gram's Ham Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Been searching for an old fashioned ham loaf recipe and Grams is just perfect! I prepared it exactly as written was short on Graham crackers so I used a little bread crumbs. Had some Christmas spiral ham, chopped it in my food processor came out fine. The tomato/brown sugar sauce Is fantastic . Your Gram knew what she was doing! My husband and mother in law loved it so I got points boo-ya! Thanks for sharing Saylor's mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was my first try at ham loaf. I used our farm-raised pork products to make it, and it was very good. The reason I gave only four stars is because the sauce was very runny, and I think the loaf itself could use some more seasoning. It had good flavor and my 4-year-old loved it. There are 2 things that I will do differently next time. First, I formed the loaf into a sourdough-type shape, and next time I will make it more of a bread-loaf shape to hold in some moisture. The edges just got a little dry. Second, I will not add as much water & vinegar to the sauce; maybe only half the amount. That way the sauce will not run off of my loaf and burn onto the parchment, which is what happened this time. I prefer more of a thick-gravy, one that would stick on the loaf and get nice and gooey. Overall, I will definitely make this again, but maybe add some additional herbs or fine-cut veggies to the loaf to suit our tastes. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is IT! My late husband's ham loaf. This meal is DELISH made just as the recipe is written. Try it before making any changes. Certainly deserves a blue ribbon in my family's book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Was very good. Mixed with hot sausage instead of ground pork, exchanged water for condensed milk and cut back to 2 Tbs and microwaved for 8 minutes. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This ham loaf recipe was a good way to use up my leftover Christmas ham, but it needs onions and bell peppers in order to give it some pep. Frankly, it was too sweet for me, but the family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This ham loaf was absolutely delicious-my whole family loved it! A definite Easter dinner tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I wish I could have liked this...I was looking for something different for the family, followed the directions to a T and this was an absolute catastrophe. I can't explain the very odd taste and the texture was grainy and terrible... the only bonus was the sauce (hence the single star.) My family had to drown their ham loaf in sauce to choke it down...I'm sorry; will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Exactly the recipe I was looking for. This is authentic PA Dutch, just like my Gram used to make. The big difference between this and other recipes is the graham crackers. I skipped the tomato soup though, and added some pineapple juice to the topping. I then put some pineapples on top the loaf while it bakes....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I must say I was unsure of this recipe since there were no other reviews & I had never tried it. It was wonderful! I really only make ham loaf for my family because the other recipe I had made before was not what I liked, but I even ate this. It seems a bit wet when you put it in the pan, but it gets very firm & the moisture is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States