Gram's Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
A nice and easy basic recipe for chicken (or turkey) pot pie, except I did make some modifications due to our family's taste preferences. My family doesn't really care for the taste of mushrooms, and prefer the taste of the chicken to stand out more in our pot pies, so instead of cream of mushroom soup, I used cream of chicken soup, which also eliminated the need for bouillon, and used water in the quantity of 3/4 (three-quarters) of the empty soup can, which made for a thicker filling. Also, for a much faster and easier prep, I used 2 cans (9.7 oz) of Swanson's Premium Chunk Chicken Breast in water. I also added about half a cup of cooked diced potatos and a quarter-cup of sliced cooked carrots. I also added half a teaspoon of salt and a couple of shakes of regular black pepper. With all the filling ingredients already heated in the soup mixture, the only time it needs in the oven is long enough to brown the crust to your preference. This was a great success in our family and disappears fast when I take it to work for pot luck events. And it's so easy and delicious we stopped buying frozen chicken pot pies altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Good basic recipe. I did make a few changes: substituted cream of chicken soup for the mushroom, added a variety of vegetables - thawed corn, green beans and chopped carrots, as well as the peas,and added some spices - garlic powder, basil, oregano, sage and pepper. It's great for using up leftover frozen vegetables and leftover chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This was SOOO good! My family thoroughly enjoyed this one (and so did I).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Very tastey! I used 5 chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken; I made my own crust and added herbs to it. I used frozen mixed vegetables and two white potatoes. I added salt, pepper, celery, onion, mushrooms, and a bay leaf. I also used chicken seasoning instead of chicken bouillon granules. I'll make it again for sure, especially in colder months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I made my own pie crust, recipe for three. I used a can of chicken broth instead of the granules. Make sure to use a deep dish pie plate. Great use for left over chicken..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was very good and quick to make. The only thing I changed was I used chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. The reason I didn't put it as a five star was because it was pretty liquidy. Next time I will try to use less water/bouillon mixture. It still tasted good, just a personal preference. One thing that I did like about it was that it was very fast to make. The thing that took the longest was making the pie crust myself, but if you used a premade one then it would go really fast. Thank you for posting this recipe, Jill. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
I use leftover veggies, frozen. When I get enough of them I make the pot pie. Leftover potatoes can be added, or for a change, noodles cooked in the chicken water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
De-lish-ka!!! This was my first pot pie. I was so proud I took a picture of it. It was so wonderful I had to call my mom to tell her. It was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSGAINOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
this is a fast, tasty and so easy meal! i used left over chicken and frozen brocoli and carrots. i would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by santitam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe. I didn't use a whole chicken I just boiled a couple of chicken breasts. I also had some left over pastry that I used for the top only instead of frozen pie crusts. I had some frozen corn in the freezer so I added some and also put in some diced carrot. It's a good recipe because you can add what you like and leave out what you don't. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie7

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States