Gram's Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Very tastey! I used 5 chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken; I made my own crust and added herbs to it. I used frozen mixed vegetables and two white potatoes. I added salt, pepper, celery, onion, mushrooms, and a bay leaf. I also used chicken seasoning instead of chicken bouillon granules. I'll make it again for sure, especially in colder months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe. I didn't use a whole chicken I just boiled a couple of chicken breasts. I also had some left over pastry that I used for the top only instead of frozen pie crusts. I had some frozen corn in the freezer so I added some and also put in some diced carrot. It's a good recipe because you can add what you like and leave out what you don't. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie7

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was delicious! I used chicken left over from a whole crock pot chicken. I modified the recipe by first sauteing onions, celery, garlic and thyme in butter before adding the soup, veggies, and chicken. I also added parmesan cheese and used chicken stock rather than water and boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
this is great for kids fufilling and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I had some bolied chicken in the freezer waiting for a day when I needed a quick meal. I combined it with 1/2 fat cream of broccoli soup and frozen cauliflower/carrot/broccoli mix since that is what I had in the house. I baked them in individual dishes (leaving chicken out of one for my vegetarian daughter). Excellent comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
A nice and easy basic recipe for chicken (or turkey) pot pie, except I did make some modifications due to our family's taste preferences. My family doesn't really care for the taste of mushrooms, and prefer the taste of the chicken to stand out more in our pot pies, so instead of cream of mushroom soup, I used cream of chicken soup, which also eliminated the need for bouillon, and used water in the quantity of 3/4 (three-quarters) of the empty soup can, which made for a thicker filling. Also, for a much faster and easier prep, I used 2 cans (9.7 oz) of Swanson's Premium Chunk Chicken Breast in water. I also added about half a cup of cooked diced potatos and a quarter-cup of sliced cooked carrots. I also added half a teaspoon of salt and a couple of shakes of regular black pepper. With all the filling ingredients already heated in the soup mixture, the only time it needs in the oven is long enough to brown the crust to your preference. This was a great success in our family and disappears fast when I take it to work for pot luck events. And it's so easy and delicious we stopped buying frozen chicken pot pies altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
It was so easy and yet delicious. I added potatoes and lots of pepper and I made my own crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
SOOOOOOO tasty, and easy too. I made my own crust and put some herbs in it, which made the pot pie even more divine! This totally satisfied our comfort food craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
this recipe is really good and tastey I used a can of celery soup and a can of mushroom soup gave it a great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I made this recipe tonight for our family. Our kids loved it! My husband went back for senconds and thirds! IT WAS GREAT! I made it with turkey (I mixed some gravy with the turkey). I did make some additions like mixed veggies and frozen hashbrown potatoes. I sub milk for water and added gravy and the cream of mushroom soup. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States