Gram's Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I enjoyed that .Will be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I am amazed at how quickly and easily this recipe assembles. For a busy mom, this is a great recipe that can be altered to meet personal tastes. I use organic frozen mixed veggies, Penzey's chicken soup base and organic chicken to customize this already good recipe. I found that the filling is quite "soupy", even after sitting for a bit before cutting it. I've reduced the liquid to 1.75 cups...half water half broth. This thickened the filling a bit. Making it in individual pie crusts or ramekins would probably be a great alternative to a whole pie. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I'm giving 4 stars for this, only because I really haven't eaten it yet! I have just put this pie together (SO EASY!), and unfortunately have to freeze it for another night (single mom, kids are at their Dad's this weekend). I have tasted the filling (YUM!) and can't wait to have this for dinner (likely Monday). I have decided to freeze it unbaked, but wondered if anyone has frozen this recipe before and has tips for times/temps for baking it from frozen. I will be sure to review it after we eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was very good and quick to make. The only thing I changed was I used chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. The reason I didn't put it as a five star was because it was pretty liquidy. Next time I will try to use less water/bouillon mixture. It still tasted good, just a personal preference. One thing that I did like about it was that it was very fast to make. The thing that took the longest was making the pie crust myself, but if you used a premade one then it would go really fast. Thank you for posting this recipe, Jill. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This tasted pretty good to me, but my husband didn't care for it too much. Anyway, it was really simple to make. I used condensed cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom and used about 3/4 cup of chicken broth instead of water, and no bouillon granules. Tasted good except could have used more broth as it was kind of dry. I'll make this again but not anytime soon because of hubby. Thank you for this quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brandyd
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very good! I added a few more veggies (carrots, onion, peas, potatoes) Yum Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is a really good recipe for a quick-fix pot pie but it does require some changes. (1) I boiled boneless, skinless chicken thighs with water, onion, celery, and a low-sodium/no-sodium added vegetable bullion. After chicken is done, save 1 cup of the liquid to re-add later. (2) I used an organic semi-condensed cream of mushroom by Amy's. (3) As I heated the soup I added chopped broccoli and a frozen veggies (onion and celery mix). Bare in mind these frozen veggies will release water. I added 1 cup of the reserved chicken broth but had to add 3/4 tsp of corn starch to thicken. Next time, it'll probably be best to add 3/4 cup broth at max (especially if using frozen veggies). Reserving the cup will give you some flexibility if you want more liquid. (4) I think the cook time suggested of up to 35 minutes is a bit too long at 400-degrees. I should have check the crust a little sooner. However, I made my crust so this may explain the bake time issue I had. (*)This is a good base recipe for a quick chicken pot pie. Relying on pre-made crust expedites the cooking process. However, clean eaters can still enjoy this by making a few modifications. Taste is 4.5 stars but due to changes needed rated 4-stars. Will make frequently and a plus that it freezes well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faux Chef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I wasn't too crazy about this recipe. But, I'm giving it three stars because my husband seemed to like it. There was a lot left over. I'm not too crazy about pot pie though. I guess I was trying to find a recipe that made me like it more though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was great. Used frozen mixed veg and chicken broth instead of water+bouillion. Very homey and comforting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Only two changes I made was to use frozen mixed veggies - had no peas by themselves and added a little dried chopped onion. This was a HUGE hit - there was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States