Grampy's Special Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
No breadmaker needed. I've made this recipe twice now and it hardly lasted a day each time! I have a breadmaker but prefer not to use it most of the time. I mixed the yeast with the milk warmed to proof the yeast let it sit a couple minutes then added the honey butter and salt mixed, added two cups of the flour and the rice crisps and mixed then with my dough hook mixed in the last cup of flour until the sides left the bowl. I let the dough rise one hour cut into 12 rolls let rise another hour and baked at 375 for 12 minutes. I make bread almost every day and this is one of the best I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I used my Kitchen Aid to make this bread, as I don't have a bread machine. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the honey and warm milk for ten minutes. I then added the melted butter and then, the dry ingredents. I had to add about another half cup of flour to get the dough into a ball and jump on the hook. I kneaded it with the dough hook for five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased, covered bowl for a hour. After it had doubled, I formed it into a loaf, and let it rise again in the loaf pan another fourty-five minutes or so. I baked it at 350* for about a half hour. This bread had the texture of a beer bread. Chewy and dense. You could really taste the yeast, if that makes sense. My husband ate over half of the loaf on his own and my kids each ate two pieces. Good bread. NOTE: I appreciate you posting this recipe just for the title. My son lost his Grampy three years ago and pines for him still. When I saw this title, I had to make it. Please thank your Grampy for sharing his bread recipe and make sure you hug him from my son. He was quite touched by this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
the bread flavor is great ,the top fell in. and i was disappointed with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I never heard of bread with Rice Krispies in it and my search for a recipe stopped when I saw this recipe. This is a good, old fashioned, everyday white bread, great for sandwiches or just to put out with supper. Light, tender interior, but still sturdy and with a crackly crust, just how I like it! I used butter rather than margarine, 1-1/2 teaspoons of bread machine yeast and 2% milk, but otherwise stuck to the recipe as written, using the bread machine. Just the slightest specks of the Rice Krispies show, which made it extra pretty. Loved it. Grampy did himself proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I don't have a breadmaker so I was happy to read the review below on how to put this recipe together and bake it in the oven. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly and the buns came out GREAT!!! The only thing I added was brushing the buns w/ butter when I first took them out of the oven. We didn't have one was left! **Update** I make these all the time now. I've made these by hand and in the breadmaker and either way it comes out great.. it just depends on if I have time to do it by hand or not. Also I use a muffin tin to bake them in... I roll the dough into small 1 inch balls and put 3 balls in each muffin tin, let it rise for about 30 to 40 mins, than baked at 375 for about 20 mins or until the tops are golden brown. I still brush the tops w/ a stick of butter right when it comes out of the oven for a shiney golden look to each roll. It looks like a beautiful clover. It's VERY pretty! I'm making these for Thanksgiving and hope to impress my inlaws! Thanks Grampy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I subbed 1 cup whole wheat flour for the white flour, and used 1 T. molasses for 1 T of the honey. Then, I shaped this into 13 hamburger buns, and baked at 375 for 20 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
One would never know there was crispy rice cereal in this bread. I made into rolls as others and baked for 17 minutes at 375. Brushed with butter and they were excellent! Made 12 large rolls that are good size for sandwiches. Next time may make a bit small for more of a dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ketchme71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Love this recipe! The bread is soft and moist and airy. I also have made cinnamon rolls out of this recipe with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a very good all purpose bread recipe. This is a great bread for sandwiches, toast, french bread. My family loves this. The best ever, hands down!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States