Grampa Dave's Texas Chainsaw Bar-B-Que Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I have made this sauce twice now, and everyone loves it! It is perfect for ribs. If you add a tablespoon of honey it will be that much better. Also, throw a few drops of hot sauce in. This is truly a great recipe and I highly recommend it. I have even given a few bottles out as gifts! You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This is the real deal. Once you've made up a batch of this sauce you'll never go back to that artificially flavored, high fructose corn syrup sold in supermarkets labled as Bar-B-Que Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
The name of the BBQ sauce and the various sweeteners used attracted me to this recipe. It is a wonderful sauce. The longish list of ingredients needed put any cook off. The time spent is worth it. They blend wonderfully. I poured this sauce over drumsticks which I baked. The whole family loved them. Usually my guys prefer white meat over dark but I haven't seen drumskins get eaten so fast as when I used this recipe. Thanks Grampa Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is an excellent base recipe, however it is VERY sweet. I have made it omitting the maple syrup and brown sugar and only using about 1/2 of the molasses that are called for (it's still plenty sweet from the ketchup and OJ). I really like the use of citrus for the acid it gives the sauce and the onion and garlic round out the flavors. I also have found that a tsp of chili powder is a nice addition. thanks, Grampa Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Wow! Thanks for sharing. I think I will add a tablespoon of chili paste or some chipotle peppers to give it some heat and blend it in a blender to mop on the ribs.....but what a difference in taste compared to bottled sauce! It's like an explosion of flavor in the mouth. Such depth and complexity. My only warning is to be careful about grilling. The sugars quickly catch on fire on the grill....add at the last moment or even after the ribs come off the grill. Oh...and don't try to half the sauce (I did by mistake). The thickness will be off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoxerMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Outstanding! I've already made two batches of this BBQ sauce and my family agrees it's just great. I followed the recipe exactly on the 1st batch and found it had a wonderful lemon tang to it once cooked. At first I worried it might be too citrus for our likes ... but I was wrong. The citrus tang settled down perfectly once it was added to the meats. Try this on chicken thighs cooked on your outdoor grill. Great!!! Today we added it to pulled pork sandwiches (using Sarge's EZ pulled pork recipe on this site) and once again - everyone kept commenting on it. My 2nd batch I tinkered by adding a teaspoon of liquid smoke. Though it gave it a little more depth and changed the complexity slightly, our family seemed to prefer it without (we tried them side by side). Just wanted to tell you we thought it was a definite HOME RUN!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
You'd be doing your taste buds a dis-service by not trying this sauce. I promise you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grampa Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Kingston, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
this is so delicious.I didn't change anything from the recipe, followed the exact instructions. This bbq sauce was a hit. I think the bbq sauce was more popular then the meats. I had make another pot of it for the rest of the bbq meat. It seems hard to make with all these different spices and liquids but its well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Oh so delicious, use to baste, for pulled pork sandwiches, delicious! Texans just now how to treat their barbecue! Maybe add some smoke flavor and it'll be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Yummy. Husband is a fan of the spicy sauce and thought this was a tad on the sweet side. I added some extra spice to his and left the kids alone. Everyone was pleased with this sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States