Grampa Dave's Texas Chainsaw Bar-B-Que Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is an excellent base recipe, however it is VERY sweet. I have made it omitting the maple syrup and brown sugar and only using about 1/2 of the molasses that are called for (it's still plenty sweet from the ketchup and OJ). I really like the use of citrus for the acid it gives the sauce and the onion and garlic round out the flavors. I also have found that a tsp of chili powder is a nice addition. thanks, Grampa Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!!!! The only thing I changed was using a half a cup of maple syrup because that's all I had. It still turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is the ONLY bbq sauce to use. one change, I left out most to all of the lemon, it just didnt suit my preferences. It is just fabulous on every meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Yummy. Husband is a fan of the spicy sauce and thought this was a tad on the sweet side. I added some extra spice to his and left the kids alone. Everyone was pleased with this sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very good bbq sauce. I went a tiny bit heavier on the hot spices. It is also tastier if you let it sit in the refridgerator for a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Outstanding! This was a big hit, and you can bet your bippy that I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hampton, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I will finally have to admit this is one of the best BBQ sauces I have ever made. I followed the recipe and added more hot sauce and honey!! Perfect!! Gawd luv Grampa Dave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This is the best BBQ sauce I've ever tasted! My husband LOVED it, too. He said we never needed to buy it at the store anymore. I didn't have the fresh lemon juice, I used the bottled stuff but couldn't tell a difference...it was still fantastic! I put the rest in an old catup bottle and stored it in the fridge. I'll definately made this one again! Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Little too mild for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
this is so delicious.I didn't change anything from the recipe, followed the exact instructions. This bbq sauce was a hit. I think the bbq sauce was more popular then the meats. I had make another pot of it for the rest of the bbq meat. It seems hard to make with all these different spices and liquids but its well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States