Grampa Dave's Texas Chainsaw Bar-B-Que Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I found the cider vinegar a little overwhelming. I'll definitely make this again...but I'll cut the vinegar to 3/4C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
great sauce. Don't be fooled, tho when sampling it from the pot. Alone, it doesn't taste all that great - but put it on some pulled pork or ribs - man - it's great. A bit pricey with the natural ingredents and I now call it my "Special Occassion sauce". Oh yeah, I added a bit extra heat with Texas Pete's hot sauce for an extra kick - that's all up to you, tho. Grampa dave did good with this sauce! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmcityboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm not sure what I did different but this was far too acid for us. Maybe it was my orange juice. I'll try it again but this time I added a lot more sugar to kill the acid and it tastes okay. After all the great reviews I was expecting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I like this sauce; I've used it on chicken and I used it on ribs. Makes a lot and I'm glad it does! I omitted the lemon slices and used bottled lemon juice. Works fine for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATURTLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Union, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Good, but not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is a fantastic bbq sauce. I will stop searching for a good sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe...I cut the recipe in half and the molasses and maple syrup in half after that. Added 2 tbsps of Thai chili sauce for the extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was really good. I thought maybe a little sweet but my husband loved it. We had it on ribs and on a pulled pork roast. Both were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I originally tried this out because I was intrigued with the prospect of a BBQ sauce with Real Maple Syrup as a sweetening element. It did make the sauce a bit on the expensive side to make. Well anyway I tried the recipe. It smelled wonderful while it was simmering and tasted great fresh out of the cooking pot. I had a friend over so I bottled up a sample for him... he was practically drinking the stuff out of the bottle. He later tried it as a marinade for some steaks and he said it turned out ok. I used it the following day on ribs that I cooked in a slow cooker over some chopped onions. To be honest I was a bit disappointed... they didn't turn out as well as I thought they would. It was like it was almost too sweet for the meat. It's hard to say, it might have even had something to do with the rub I put on the ribs the day before to season the meat. (I used a Kansas City Rub) Back to the sauce though, I also found that after cooling and refrigeration the sauce also lost most of its zing or tang. If I was to try this again I would probably half the recipe and use the sauce fresh. (The full recipe makes 6 cups) I hope to use the rest of it up as a straight BBQ sauce to put over meat instead of for slow cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is an excellent base recipe, however it is VERY sweet. I have made it omitting the maple syrup and brown sugar and only using about 1/2 of the molasses that are called for (it's still plenty sweet from the ketchup and OJ). I really like the use of citrus for the acid it gives the sauce and the onion and garlic round out the flavors. I also have found that a tsp of chili powder is a nice addition. thanks, Grampa Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States