Grampa Dave's Texas Chainsaw Bar-B-Que Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I found the cider vinegar a little overwhelming. I'll definitely make this again...but I'll cut the vinegar to 3/4C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
great sauce. Don't be fooled, tho when sampling it from the pot. Alone, it doesn't taste all that great - but put it on some pulled pork or ribs - man - it's great. A bit pricey with the natural ingredents and I now call it my "Special Occassion sauce". Oh yeah, I added a bit extra heat with Texas Pete's hot sauce for an extra kick - that's all up to you, tho. Grampa dave did good with this sauce! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmcityboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm not sure what I did different but this was far too acid for us. Maybe it was my orange juice. I'll try it again but this time I added a lot more sugar to kill the acid and it tastes okay. After all the great reviews I was expecting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I like this sauce; I've used it on chicken and I used it on ribs. Makes a lot and I'm glad it does! I omitted the lemon slices and used bottled lemon juice. Works fine for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATURTLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Union, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Good, but not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is a fantastic bbq sauce. I will stop searching for a good sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe...I cut the recipe in half and the molasses and maple syrup in half after that. Added 2 tbsps of Thai chili sauce for the extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was really good. I thought maybe a little sweet but my husband loved it. We had it on ribs and on a pulled pork roast. Both were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I originally tried this out because I was intrigued with the prospect of a BBQ sauce with Real Maple Syrup as a sweetening element. It did make the sauce a bit on the expensive side to make. Well anyway I tried the recipe. It smelled wonderful while it was simmering and tasted great fresh out of the cooking pot. I had a friend over so I bottled up a sample for him... he was practically drinking the stuff out of the bottle. He later tried it as a marinade for some steaks and he said it turned out ok. I used it the following day on ribs that I cooked in a slow cooker over some chopped onions. To be honest I was a bit disappointed... they didn't turn out as well as I thought they would. It was like it was almost too sweet for the meat. It's hard to say, it might have even had something to do with the rub I put on the ribs the day before to season the meat. (I used a Kansas City Rub) Back to the sauce though, I also found that after cooling and refrigeration the sauce also lost most of its zing or tang. If I was to try this again I would probably half the recipe and use the sauce fresh. (The full recipe makes 6 cups) I hope to use the rest of it up as a straight BBQ sauce to put over meat instead of for slow cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is an excellent base recipe, however it is VERY sweet. I have made it omitting the maple syrup and brown sugar and only using about 1/2 of the molasses that are called for (it's still plenty sweet from the ketchup and OJ). I really like the use of citrus for the acid it gives the sauce and the onion and garlic round out the flavors. I also have found that a tsp of chili powder is a nice addition. thanks, Grampa Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States