Grammy's Overnight Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is the best Make-Ahead Lasagna recipe I have tried. Thank you! --- I almost followed the directions exactly. Here are the nitty gritty details for those who like them: ---I halved the recipe and put it in a 7 x 11 glass dish (2" deep). It worked out so it baked right up to the top but wasn't overflowing. There was plenty of room for the noodles to expand but they didn't get all crinkled up and end up on top of each other. ---The noodles and sauce were the perfect ratio so it cooked into a thicker lasagna, and not like soup nor paste. ---I only let the lasagna sit 5 hours before I needed to bake it. ---I added one beaten egg into the cottage cheese to help it set up better. ---The number of servings seems pretty low on the original recipe. My half-recipe ended up making 6 very generous servings. ---Thank you again! I will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Wonderful! Only things I did different was used 16 oz. of cheese, added an egg to the cottage cheese, and added some dried basil and a little minced garlic while cooking the meat. I'm sure the sauce plays a huge roll in the flavor. I used Hunts Meat Sauce. It was perfect AND is only $1 a can! I used a 8x11 pan so everything was snug and stayed together. Just a note: in the past I've used low-fat cottage cheese and it turns watery. This time I used the full-fat small curd and the flavor and texture were perfect. I also used no-boil lasagna, but I always soak them in hot water for about 40 minutes before using them. Just a little tip I've heard along the way and it really does ensure they cook through. NOTE: The Oven-Ready lasagna noodles at Walmart are under $1.50!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This is so easy. My kids think herbs are "green stuff" so they LOVED it. My 16 year old ate almost half of it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used the oven-ready noodles even though the recipe didn't specify. Nixed the cottage cheese so it would freeze better.Came out PERFECT for packing in lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is great but add some chopped onion and minced garlic toi the ground beef, then add pasta sauce and some fine parmesan cheese while it is cooking. It had much more flavour. Freezes well too for warm up at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made with turkey sausage & spinach in my sauce. I used less noodles (I wasn't sure if it was OK to overlap them, although I'm guessing it is) - it turned out great! I think it helps the flavor since the noodles can soften and everything can marry for hours before cooking. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed all instructions and ingredients except for the pan - I used a slightly smaller and deeper pan, so the lasagna was three layers. It turned out Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Really simple. So, so easy. Made hosting a dinner party stress free. Added basic Italian sausage seasoning (see below) to the meat; big plus. Might have been a bit plain without that. Making it again right now! TIP: Add the jar of marinara sauce to the beef then dump the 3/4 cup water into the jar and swish it around before adding it to the meat mixture, to get the remaining sauce out. Seasoning: 1 tsp paprika, 2 tsp dried parsley, 1 tsp dried minced onion, 1 tsp garlic powder (or 2 cloves fresh garlic, minced), and 1 tsp crushed dried fennel seeds. Can also add dried pepper flakes if you like heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Very nice recipe and so easy. I put the noodles in warm water (they always break up when boiled, and the oven-ready are $$$) for a few hours, then layer and refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCOWGIRLS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I made this for 3 friends all celebrating their birthdays and it was a home run. I added some veggies and cut back on meat, but overall a great base recipe. I cut meat to 1 lb. and added 1/2 onion chopped, minced garlic, fresh mushrooms and 1-16 oz. bag frozen spinach. I also added about 1/3 cup parmesan cheese to the cottage cheese and mixed in some fresh chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitunit

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States