Grammy's Overnight Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This method has always helped me to make the best lasagne. Granted, I made a few changes, but not to the method itself. I tend to freeze leftovers of my homemade sauce and meatballs. When I have enough to put together a lasagna (about every 6 months), I make this one. I put all the defrosted leftover sauce into a pan, heat it, adjust the seasoning, then let it cool. I cook regular Barilla lasagne noodles 8 mins til al dente, then lay them on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking oil. I slice my meatballs into 3rds while half-frozen. I take one 2-lb container of ricotta, add 2 beaten eggs, 1-2 tbs dried parsely and about 1/2 tsp black pepper. I shred about 2 c mozz, and get out pecorino romano. I spray a 9x12 pan with cooking spray and make 3 layers over a cup of sauce spread on the bottom: noodles, ricotta, meatballs, sauce, mozz, grated cheese. The top (3rd) layer of noodles gets the remaining ricotta, mozz and grated cheese. Cover tightly with oiled tinfoil, then in the fridge til the next afternoon. Extra sauce reserved for serving. Let pan come to room temp 1-2 hrs before cooking. Cook covered 25 mins, uncovered 25 mins, with a pan underneath. Let sit about 15 mins and PERFECTION - turns out with perfect texture to noodles, not dry, and completely set up for cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is very good!! I didn't change a thing in the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I love this recipe, needless to say I was nervous about the noodles being tender. I did not buy the oven ready noodles, but it turned out perfect. Applied changes mentioned in previous reviews. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Perfect noodles. Add your own flare. Awesome basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was easy and delicious! I did add onion, garlic, basil and oregano to the ground beef while it was cooking. Also added some cooked carrot to add to the veggie content (and you can't tell at all). Next time I might try to make it three layer if I can figure out what pan I could use. Thanks AuLait for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
My sweetie and I loved this recipe! It's easy to put together, and it's yummy! I added some garlic powder, oregano and basil. Also I used marble cheese as I had no mozza on hand. Oh, and I added an egg to the cottage cheese. Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Loved this recipe! Thank you so much for sharing! I did tweak it a little: Used the oven ready lasagna noodles and soaked them for 30 minutes before using, added an egg to the cottage cheese. I used the higher fat cottage cheese, and added parsley, pepper, and oregano to it. I didn't find just one jar of marinara that was 30 oz, so I used Prego meat sauce coupled with some hunts tomato sauce, and it had great flavor! Tonight I'm trying it with both beef and sausage, but with just the beef it's great. This is a wonderful make ahead recipe! Absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was so easy and so tasty! I made this for our men's basketball team dinner and they devoured it! The only thing that I did differently was I added a half a roll of Italian sausage...Next time I will have to double the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Really simple. So, so easy. Made hosting a dinner party stress free. Added basic Italian sausage seasoning (see below) to the meat; big plus. Might have been a bit plain without that. Making it again right now! TIP: Add the jar of marinara sauce to the beef then dump the 3/4 cup water into the jar and swish it around before adding it to the meat mixture, to get the remaining sauce out. Seasoning: 1 tsp paprika, 2 tsp dried parsley, 1 tsp dried minced onion, 1 tsp garlic powder (or 2 cloves fresh garlic, minced), and 1 tsp crushed dried fennel seeds. Can also add dried pepper flakes if you like heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Like others suggested, I used 1 lb ground beef and 1 lb Italian sausage. I browned them together with 2 cloves of diced garlic and some onion. I also added an egg to the cottage cheese. This was so wonderful. I can't believe I have never made lasagna before, but I will definitely put it on my dinner rotation now with this recipe. Also a great place to hide extra veggies so the kids don't pick them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States