Grammy Faith's Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Oh and on a side note - this would make excellent sandwich spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Use the same recipe, just a slightly different cooking technique, from an old Fanny Farmer Cookbook. It's wonderful! You can change the sweet/sour ratio by varying the amount of sugar to vinegar. This stuff is so good I'll eat leftover sauce out of the fridge with a spoon. It is also tasty on fish, spinach, and esp. corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Great sauce! I served it with our Easter ham (14 people) and it was a hit! I used about a quarter less sugar as it was sweet enough. I think the next time I make it I will add fresh tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Outstanding. This also makes a great dip for chicken fingers. My family loved it with baked ham. The only change I might make is to make it thinner, as it got a "skin" while it sat on the table and had to be stirred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
HUGE hit at the Easter dinner table! Even though the ham was divine, my dinner guests still loved this sauce enough to pass it around the table. My husband is looking forward to using it cold as a spread on the bread for leftover ham sandwiches tonight and I think my son who is a connoisseur of chicken strips with honey mustard will love this to dip his chicken in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Nice compliment to our Easter ham. Good comments from my guests. Will use this for chicken and pork also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Very good! The only thing I might do differently next time is to use a little less flour the next time as it thickens up quickly and forms a skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Well, in the end I think I made a completely different sauce, but it was still really good. I obviously didn't pay close attention to the recipe when I started making it. I accidentally put 1 cup of SOUR cream. I also put a squirt of prepared mustard in, mostly for color, and because of the comments here, I cut the flour in half. Mine was still a little runny, but probably because I used sour cream. In the end, it still came out very yummy. A lot spicier then I expected....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKY7575

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was excellent! I didn't have a double boiler, so I just toss all the ingredients and follow the direction as if I had a double boiler. This would be a great dip for chicken fingers or as a sandwich spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Try this sauce with and old fashioned boiled dinner (corned beef, cabbage, turnip, potatoes, carrots, onions). I was glad to find this version after I lost this page from my Fannie Farmer cookbook. I did find it later and others may like this version, which is not so sweet: 2 Tbsp mustard 1 tsp flour 1 c light cream 1 egg yolk 1 tsp sugar 1/2 c vinegar, hot salt Blend mustard, flour and 1/4 c cream. Heat the remainder of the cream and add the mustard mix to it. Beat the egg yolk and add to 2 Tbsp of the hot mixture before blending into the pot. Add the sugar, cook until thickened. Add vinegar at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Waterboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States