Grammy Burnham's Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Oh so good. I changed it up slightly: 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white butter instead of shortening (melted then room temp) 1 cup rasins, 1/2 cup chopped dates cooked 10 minutes exactly PERFECTION! And like another said, seal in air tight bag and they are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Due to this getting so many rave reviews, I decided to try it and make it without the coffee and just the carmel ( put about 1/4 cup on top of a layer that I put down first on the crust-then put the rest of the batter, then added about 3 tablespoons more and swirled it-gorgeous). It turned out beautiful!! I also highly recommend using a water bath around the cheesecake as it bakes. Great recipe! Even without the coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
big hit without changing a thing! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
The easiest and best tasting molasses cookie I ever made! Fabulous, fabulous cookies and beautiful too. I made it as written. Thanks so much for a very special old fashioned recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
WOW! These cookies were absolutely WONDERFUL. The only reason I gave them five stars is because there was no six. I was extremely wary of making them b/c every other recipe I've tried on allrecipes has turned into a burnt offering. These didn't burn, didn't stick, didn't spread and tasted SO GOOD. I did modify the recipe slightly b/c I didn't have all the ingredients: cloves instead of allspice, oil instead of butter or margerine, and four eggs instead of six. They still turned out GREAT. My DP (Dear Pappy), who doesn't like molasses cookies, loved them. Thanks, Grammy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
These were fantastic! I was looking for a recipe for a bakeoff and this is one! I modified it a little the second time and they were even better! I decreased the sugar to 3/4cup, decreased baking soda to 1/2 tsp and instead of raisins, used dried cranberry and chopped walnuts. i got 48 good sized, insanely delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great cookie. Used butter instead of shortening and 1 egg / 2 egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
awesome! these are my favorite cookies EVER!!! they are rich, chewy, and flavorful :) the raisins add a unique contrast with the spice and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIXIE0019

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Tasty enough, but had a big problem of the dough spreading all over the cookiesheet, even after chilling the dough. I followed the recipe as is. Probably not one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States