Grammie's Sweet Milk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
YUM!! These were really good. To make sure they are nice and chewy, only bake them until they are barely getting browned. We all loved these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDMCCLAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
These were easily the best cookies I have ever tasted! loved the milk flavour...I liked that the ingredients were simple and the taste divine. The cookies turned out perfect... chewy and milky the first time I made good cookies. The kids loved them and my aunt is coming for coffee and cookies in the morning too I can't wait til she tries them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Very yummy and different with the nutmeg flavor! I rolled them into balls and rolled them in sugar instead of cutting them out. Had to add a little more flour than 2 cups. DE-LISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
soft, milky, melt-in-your-mouth cookies! smells amazing, and actually tastes and smells like milk! instead of the soda/tartar, i just used 1.5 teaspoon of baking powder. i left out the nutmeg and used a mixture of butter and margarine instead of shortening (just because i didn't have shortening) i also added a tiny bit of vanilla extract. these are the only cookies i've ever baked where people asked over and over for the recipe. i actually had to print the recipe and hand it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Ahn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This cookies were a snap to make- I used about 2.5 cups of flour. They were soft to roll, but plenty of flour and a spatula picked them right up off of the counter. I cooked them longer than some- about 15 minutes, maybe it's my oven, but they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
These cookies were so simple and delicious! I omitted the nutmeg to aim for a more neutral flavor. They are so chewy and the sugar on the outside give them just the right amount of crunch. I made a caramel sauce by boiling what was left of the sweetened condensed milk for 3 hours in its own can in a pot of water. After 3 hours milk turns into a rich caramel sauce and atop these cookies it's like a match made in heaven. The sauce makes these cookies go from melt in your mouth good to "stop what you were doing just to look at what you're eating" delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Delicious and old fashioned., Reminds me of the original Archway sugar cookie wih a milk based flavor. I lowered the over temp to 325'F and watched them very closely. Take them out once the edges begin to brown. They end up chewy and perfect. Thanks for this terrific additional to my holiday baking array! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth2doris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Woadrunner
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
A very tasty recipe. I have made a couple of variants, including substituting eggnog for the condensed milk for the Christmas season. The nutmeg may be a little strong for some, but my daughter's (7, 5, and 3) all loved the flavor, so cinnamon is an obvious substitute. I let the dough chill in the fridge for 30 minutes, scooped into balls with a small cookie scoop before rolling in sugar and cinnamon and baked at 325 on parchment paper for 8 minutes. (see my photo for the results.) I like forming my drop cookies into 'hockey pucks' before placing on the pan. I find this lends to a more uniform shape and consistent baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Wilkins
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
The result was some good cookies. I found them to be quite sweet and enjoyable. I look forwards to trying variations with this recipe next time I make it. The Details:I used baking powder instead of the soda and cream of tartar and I used goat milk instead of condensed milk. I had to add possibly 2 more cups of flour than recommended. I tried making balls and rolling them in sugar. At first, I did not flatten them and had to increase the cooking time a lot. The ones I flattened (with a cup as suggested by another review) turned out nicely. I did use stoneware, so the cooking time had to be increased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wilkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
I substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg, and didn't roll it out but just dropped it onto a greased cookie sheet and sprinkled it with colored sugar. I baked them for 7 minutes. The cookies were fabulous. They would be great for with mix in: chocolate, white, peanut butter, butterscotch chips; or candy pieces, or nuts. Icing on top would be delicious. I'm going to make this a basic dough recipe for a wide range of cookies. It's not too terribly sweet, but wonderful dipped into a glass of cold whole milk. YUM! Oh, and I added 2 cups of flour like the recipe says, even though the author of the recipe wasn't sure. It worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States