Grammie's No-Crust Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
This was just ok, could be made better with a little tweaking. If I ever did make it again, which I probably wouldn't because none of us cared for the consistency, I would add more sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
It worked out really well for me. Smelled wonderful out of the oven. I wouldn't call it a pie by any means, but it was very very good. The bisquick definitely adds a different texture to it, sort of like soggy bread, but not as gross. The crumb topping was excellent, and I am considering making my next REAL apple pie open with this crumb topping instead of closed. A guest who ate it at a gat together said it was better than his grandma's. I consider that to be a very high compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was fantastic! Easy to make and really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
We loved this ! It's really not a pie more like cobbler. I did make a mistake while putting it together but it was a good mistake. I mixed up the baking powder amounts. So, the main apple part was supposed to be 1/2 cup but I put in 1 cup and so the other part I put in 1/2 cup. I will make it again just like this. It was SUPER !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I didn't think this was good enough to make a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Everyone who tried this absolutely loved it! It was simple to put together and came out perfect. I did use pecans rather than walnuts because of personal preference. Delicious, and definitely a recipe I'll use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This was very easy and tasty! I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YODAMAHODA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is more like apple crisp than pie, but it was very good. I halved the ingredients as I was the only one eating it, used Jonagold apples, and Splenda to sweeten the filling. Forgot the butter but did not miss it. Still very good warmed up with a scoop of healthy vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
We liked this recipe, but I also tweaked the recipe, too. I used diced apples. They had been sitting in my fridge overnight soaked in some water, lemon juice, sugar, and cinnamon. I also added to the apple mix 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I didnt use nutmeg because I didnt have any, just added extra cinnamon instead. For the topping, I added some quick oats, and pummeled my walnuts untill they were almost powder. (My kids don't like big chunks of walnuts!) All in all, it was good. I will probably make it again, but I am also going to keep looking for a recipe where the apples are a little saucier, almost just straight apples with a topping, instead of the way they are in this one. The apples are just to, I dont know. almost jelly-ish in this one with the baking mix and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Washington, USA
Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
If you are expecting apple pie, this is not it. It is not bad - just not what I was expecting or hoping for - I will look for another recipe to try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Troy, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States