Grammie's No-Crust Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
This was just ok, could be made better with a little tweaking. If I ever did make it again, which I probably wouldn't because none of us cared for the consistency, I would add more sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
It worked out really well for me. Smelled wonderful out of the oven. I wouldn't call it a pie by any means, but it was very very good. The bisquick definitely adds a different texture to it, sort of like soggy bread, but not as gross. The crumb topping was excellent, and I am considering making my next REAL apple pie open with this crumb topping instead of closed. A guest who ate it at a gat together said it was better than his grandma's. I consider that to be a very high compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was fantastic! Easy to make and really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
We loved this ! It's really not a pie more like cobbler. I did make a mistake while putting it together but it was a good mistake. I mixed up the baking powder amounts. So, the main apple part was supposed to be 1/2 cup but I put in 1 cup and so the other part I put in 1/2 cup. I will make it again just like this. It was SUPER !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I didn't think this was good enough to make a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Everyone who tried this absolutely loved it! It was simple to put together and came out perfect. I did use pecans rather than walnuts because of personal preference. Delicious, and definitely a recipe I'll use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This was very easy and tasty! I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YODAMAHODA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is more like apple crisp than pie, but it was very good. I halved the ingredients as I was the only one eating it, used Jonagold apples, and Splenda to sweeten the filling. Forgot the butter but did not miss it. Still very good warmed up with a scoop of healthy vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
We liked this recipe, but I also tweaked the recipe, too. I used diced apples. They had been sitting in my fridge overnight soaked in some water, lemon juice, sugar, and cinnamon. I also added to the apple mix 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I didnt use nutmeg because I didnt have any, just added extra cinnamon instead. For the topping, I added some quick oats, and pummeled my walnuts untill they were almost powder. (My kids don't like big chunks of walnuts!) All in all, it was good. I will probably make it again, but I am also going to keep looking for a recipe where the apples are a little saucier, almost just straight apples with a topping, instead of the way they are in this one. The apples are just to, I dont know. almost jelly-ish in this one with the baking mix and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Washington, USA
Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
If you are expecting apple pie, this is not it. It is not bad - just not what I was expecting or hoping for - I will look for another recipe to try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Troy, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States