Gramma's Old Fashioned Chili Mac Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, I made this just like the recipe,,Thanks so much.. God bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This was pretty good. I did not precook my green pepper and onion as we like it a little "fresher". It cooked enough after adding the meat to it. Also added a little chili powder to it, since it is called chili mac. Kids don't like green peppers or onions, so not too kid friendly. All in all, not bad...Maggie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe...Everyone loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Thanks so much for this recipe. My Mom used to make the best chili w/ macaroni and she called it "chili con carne". We couldn't wait for chili days. She died when I was very young and the recipe was lost with her so I could never duplicate it! Thanks - added chili powder though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was a very good recipe, however next time I would only put one can of tomatoe soup and half a can of tomatoe paste.It was a little runny,I would also take other peoples advice and add chile spice. i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
the basic idea for this sounded really good - then I made it. Sauce is nothing more than way too sweet tomato soup. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Fried the onions and celery with the ground beef, left out the green peppers (kids don't like them), added 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp chili powder. Not enough to overwhelm the kids, but enough that everyone rated this a six out of five! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I omitted the green pepper, only used one can soup(+ 1 soup can water), and added double the amount of pasta, and added 1/2 c. frozen corn. Thought cheddar cheese might help, added that too. All around good dish, more like a hot dish really, but flavor was good. If you add all the liquid it would be way too soupy. Good with a little tweaking, but then again I tweak everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I like it! Little did I know when I started that I didn't have an onion, kidney beans (or any beans for that matter) or a green pepper. I added onion flakes, corn, garlic salt and chili powder instead. I also only put one can of tomatoes in, as others had suggested. It turned out really good. I've made variations of this that didn't include things like tomato soup and brown sugar and I must say I like the change. I'll still make my old recipe, but will make this once in a while too...next time I might add cayenne pepper and parmesan cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This is a very good hearty recipe and everyone in my family really liked it. My husband said it was too sweet, so I'll cut down on the brown sugar the next time. We like beans, so I added two cans of UNDRAINED kidney beans, and topped it with Parmesan cheese. It's a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States