Gramma's Old Fashioned Chili Mac Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
GREAT OVERALL RECIPE! HAD TO ALTER IT JUST A SMIDGE... MUST ADD 1 EXTRA CUP OF MAC!! I LIKE MINE MACEYER!! ALSO USE ONLY ONE CAN SOUP AND ONE CAN TOMATOES.... AND UPPED THE BROWN SUGAR TO TASTE!! YUMMY!! LEFT OUT CELERY AND PEPPER AND ADDED ONE CAN CORN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Zeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pemberville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Haskins, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is sooo kid friendly! There were no leftovers,and have been asked to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wldcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Delicious and filling. I subbed one whole red bell pepper for the 1/2 green one, added 1T of chili powder, and added 1 clove of pressed garlic. I sauted the onions, pepper, celery, & garlic in a bit of olive oil before adding the ground beef, then drained it all and mixed the remaining ingredients (except macaroni)into a crock pot. Set on low for 4 hours wasn't enough time to cook, so I dumped it all in my dutch oven and finished it by letting it simmer uncovered on the top of the stove for another 30 minutes or so while I made the macaroni, set the table, etc. My daughter gobbled it up: a perfect comfort meal after sitting through a day of Frances aftermath! I will try again in the crock pot...perhaps turning it on sooner in the day, or on high. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This recipie is YUMMY! My only change that I doubled this macaroni (I like more "mac" in my chili mac) and added 1 TBS (or more if you want hot) of chili powder to give it a more "chili" flavor. I make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Delicious and easy to cook!!! Threw it together in a short while and made a huge pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Very good! For our tastes, we made the following modifications: used Rotel instead of regular canned tomatoes; substituted pinto beans for the kidney; left out the green pepper and celery; added garlic powder. We let it simmer for 20-30 minutes to let the flavors develop a little. This solved the "soupy" problem that some reviewers commented on. Thanks for a good winter night recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Fast, easy and ymmuy! A good mid-week meal for busy nights that the entire family loved! Put some tabasco on the table for the older members of the family who might like a little spice. My two yr old loved it! HINT: I used only 1 can to soup & 1 can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
I didn't think it was too sweet, but I also didn't think it was all that great. The sauce didn't unite the ingredients, in my opinion. Just kinda tasted like what it was...meat and vegetables with tomato soup on it. Not really gross, but didn't do it for me. Have any of you had the chili mac by Lean Cuisine? Now that's Chili Mac! If only I could find that recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I am not a big fan of Hambuger Helper-type boxed dinners: due to the preservatives and sometimes the quality of boxed/dried foods. This is a little bit sweet, HOMEMADE "hamburger helper" that kids and, everyone that tries it, seems to like a lot. I do not use three pans to make, however. I just re-use the macaroni pot and skip the boiling of the celery and green peppers and just add them to the browned and DRAINED ground meat: and cook til celery is tender. Then finish recipe, as stated. I believe it adds more flavor that way. This is great as a leftover! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Definitely not my thing, but my gang loved this. The only extra I added (besides seasonings) was shredded cheddar. You made them happy campers Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States