Gramma's Old Fashioned Chili Mac Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Today was a cold, blustery day, a perfect day to have chili mac! This is a great recipe to have on a cold evening! I gave it 4 stars only because I felt it was missing some spices, my husband gave it 5 stars and devoured it! I didn't follow this recipe exactly because I couldn't remember the order to cook things (my printer is down), so I wound up browing the meat with green peppers and onions first. Then I remembered to add the celery! So after the meat mixture was almost cooked, I threw in the celery. I'm glad I did because it was semi crisp and not mushy if it had cooked the whole time. While I was browing the meat, the noodles were cooking and I am so glad that I put them to the side and served them at the end, there's nothing worse than overcooked noodles! The brown sugar gives this dish sweetness, which my hubby loved. I did add 1 tsp of chili powder, but I think it could've used more and still something else, but I can't think what. We ate it with some crusty french bread and butter and it was incredibly satisfying and kept our bellies nice and warm on this cold evening. Thanks for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I always give a recipe a fair chance and prepare it as written before making any changes or following the suggestions of other reviewers. In this case, I made one change as I prepared the recipe only because I can't do sugar. I used brown sugar splenda instead of regular brown sugar and I reduced the amount to 1T. I finished cooking the chili mac and gave it a taste test before serving to my family and I thought it was overly sweet. To counteract the sweetness I added 1.5T of chili powder, 1 tsp. of garlic powder and 1 tsp of fresh cracked black pepper. I simmered for 10 minutes to let the flavors blend and then served this to my family. I still thought it was way to sweet, but good nonetheless and my husband said add it to the monthly dinner rotation. I will certainly make again per his request, but I will not add any brown sugar at all until after it's done cooking and I have a chance to taste it, then perhaps I'll add a pinch if I feel it needs it. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Wonderful! A friend made this for me when I was in college and I couldn't remember what all went in to it. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe! Just perfect for a rainy, autumn day. Grandma's always have the best recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
It was pretty good but I'd like to spice it up a bit, and maybe chop the tomatoes up a bit more. I'd add a bit more chilli powder and pepper to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I WOULD LIKE TO SAY THAT MY FAMILY WAS HIGHLY IMPRESSED AND GRAMMA'S ALWAYS HAVE GREAT RECIPES....THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS....THIS RECIPES IS DEFINITELY FOR KEEPS IN MY FAMILY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie So Blessed Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
That's some yummy comfort food right there : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was awesome! I added a small can of chili sauce, some frozen corn and a package of chili mix (seasoning) and left out the sugar, salt and pepper. Will make it many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This has gone into menu regular rotation. A couple of tweaks for our tastes.. I only use about 1/2 tsp. of brown sugar. Omitted the celery and I use whatever kind of canned bean I happen to have. Makes great lunch leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
A little to sweet, but I will make again with a little less sugar. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this last night for dinner, as it was cold and wet, and my boyfriend and I both felt like comfort food. It was exactly what we wanted. Nothing fancy, but very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States