Gramma's Old Fashioned Chili Mac Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is exactly what it says it is, just good old fashioned southern comfort food. I make this super easy, I cook up the macaroni in a tupperware bowl in the microwave as I brown the beef and veggies on the stove, then toss in the tomatoes, soup and beans, heat that through, add the macaroni in, heat everything through and done, one bowl and 1 pot to wash. Doesn't get easier than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Easy, yummy & loaded w/ veggies - perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Made as written. I thought it has too much tomato soup flavor. My wife did not like the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This was more of what we call goulash than a traditional chili mac. We really thought it needed a healthy dose of some chili powder, cayenne, crushed red pepper, or other chiles to add a little kick. It was sweet but not overly so and was very filling. We had a nice hearty meal, but it didn't make our favorites although we would eat it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is just okay. I was searching for something to make with ground beef and happened to have all the ingredients for this. The only thing I didn't have is a 2nd can of tomato soup, but I can't imagine it would have been that different. Everyone ate it, but it was extremely ordinary and too sweet. Definitely not going to be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Was really good my girls loved it, except for the beans, but then again they still ate them, so who knows! Thanks for a wonderful dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was so good!! Even my 6 yr old said it was "awesome". I just sauted my veggies with the gr beef. I was missing the more chili flavor, so just added a few teaspoons. Loved it. Can't wait for my next potluck - I'll be making this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Good basic recipe, but too much brown sugar - it was just too sweet. I'd start with a teaspoon and do a taste test before adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I only used this recipe because I had a can of tomato soup...but this CANNOT be called chili...there's no chile's, chili powder, cumin....nothing. Tomato soup, tomatoes, and kidney beans doesn't make chili without the spices. I added a cumin, chili powder, garlic, organo, salt & pepper in order to make this even resemble chilimac. This should be changed to hearty tomato stew, or soup even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States