Gramma's Old Fashioned Chili Mac Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I knew my boyfriend would like this but wasn't sure if I would since I like spicier chili's (not much of sweet/mild fan). BUT I ended up loving this with my boyfriend!! I only used 1 can tomatoes (undrained), 1 can of tomato soup (it was all I had) but added a soup can of water like others mentioned and added the kideny beans (also undrained). Very good! I ofcourse sprinkled some sharp shredded cheddar cheese to melt over my bowl but my boyfriend raved about this as it was! Thanks Sue! Your mom is a great cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Absolutely delicious recipe resembling a simple chili but the little extras give it a bit more zest. My husband could eat it every day! I've sent it to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is a keeper. I omitted the celery (personal taste). i saute onions and pepper first. then add hamburger and brown. Then I add the rest of the ingredients. is just right for kids or those picky chili eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I used chili beans instead and my husband and 2 year old really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This is a very good hearty recipe and everyone in my family really liked it. My husband said it was too sweet, so I'll cut down on the brown sugar the next time. We like beans, so I added two cans of UNDRAINED kidney beans, and topped it with Parmesan cheese. It's a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I like it! Little did I know when I started that I didn't have an onion, kidney beans (or any beans for that matter) or a green pepper. I added onion flakes, corn, garlic salt and chili powder instead. I also only put one can of tomatoes in, as others had suggested. It turned out really good. I've made variations of this that didn't include things like tomato soup and brown sugar and I must say I like the change. I'll still make my old recipe, but will make this once in a while too...next time I might add cayenne pepper and parmesan cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I omitted the green pepper, only used one can soup(+ 1 soup can water), and added double the amount of pasta, and added 1/2 c. frozen corn. Thought cheddar cheese might help, added that too. All around good dish, more like a hot dish really, but flavor was good. If you add all the liquid it would be way too soupy. Good with a little tweaking, but then again I tweak everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Fried the onions and celery with the ground beef, left out the green peppers (kids don't like them), added 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp chili powder. Not enough to overwhelm the kids, but enough that everyone rated this a six out of five! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
the basic idea for this sounded really good - then I made it. Sauce is nothing more than way too sweet tomato soup. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was a very good recipe, however next time I would only put one can of tomatoe soup and half a can of tomatoe paste.It was a little runny,I would also take other peoples advice and add chile spice. i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States