Gramma's Easy Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I used soy milk and margarine in this recipe, as i wanted a nondairy version, and it worked beautifully. I also used chunky peanut butter and sprinkled chocolate chips on top, and think it came out really well. it is very sweet, but it melts in your mouth! i used both the thermometer and testing in water to make sure i was at the right point. oh, and for the record, 2 pounds of sugar is about 4 and a half cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
You really need to just leave it alone and not stir it. I found that it's easier if you leave out the thermometer as well. set your timer for 5 minutes and check for the soft ball stage after that every 30 seconds. It's easier and more accurate than the thermometer. It turned out perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I did not care for this RECIPE. I'm not saying it's bad fudge, it's just not a well written recipe. I am a first time fudge maker and I read the reviews for this recipe and felt worried, but thought I could handle it. Boy was I wrong. Boiled the syrup to exactly 112 C then added the remaining stuff. The fudge didn't set up and the sugar seperated from the peanut butter. This recipe is decieving. NOT EASY. DO NOT MAKE THIS RECIPE IF YOU HAVEN'T MADE FUDGE BEFORE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I just made this recipe. If you are in a hurry do not make this because it takes about 45 minutes to get it to 112 degrees C. I now have it in the fridge and I can't wait till it is set. I tested a little while I was pouring into the pan and it tasted very good but it is SWEET!! Hope this is a help to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINLUE
Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I followed directions to the letter, sweat over the hot pan, and all I got was a pan full of dry, crumbly mixture of ingredients not suitable for anything. I had to soak the pan. Don't bother with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Love it! I have been looking for a classic recipe with very basic ingredients, with real peanut butter and no marshmallow creme. It is very delicious. Let me warn you that you have to watch it VERY closely if not using a candy thermometer. Over-boiling it will cause it to thicken while pouring into a baking dish, and it will turn out dry and rock-hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I'm crushed. My first time making fudge and followed the recipe EXACLTY. Even got the fudge to the right temperature and it wouldn't set up. It's still runny. Any ideas what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Jessica, I do not understand how people say they follow the directions to the letter and that the recipe fails. NOT!!!! The cook fails to do something right. There is a site, just below the directions, on all the fudge recipes, that people can go to for advice on how to make flawless fudge. This recipe was more time-consuming (for an old granny like me) than the recipes that melt chocolate chips and call it fudge, but Gramma's Easy Peanut Butter Fudge is the BEST peanut butter fudge! I have always loved peanut butter fudge and had never found the right recipe, until now. Nice to know I won't have to buy my fudge by the pound at candy stores any longer. Thank you, and thank your Gramma for making another Granny happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was my first time making fudge that wasn't just chocolate chips and condensed milk. I followed the directions and cooked the milk and sugar until the required temperature of 240 degrees. It turned out great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kokoskorner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very Yummy and easy to make. This will be my new fudge recipe. Tastes just like good old fashioned fudge. I followed the recipe to a T. For those whos didn't turn out right, get a candy thermometor. Thanks for a quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hhazelwood07

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States