Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Absolutey perfect.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natacha Pellerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Fantastic! I too baked the crust. I baked it too long. I would suggest only 5 or 10 minutes. Instead of lemon I use vanilla....love it best that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Really enjoyed this simple recipe. Followed Lorrie recommendation and worked out perfect. I used date paste Majool that I seasoned with cinnamon, nutmeg, and cardamon. No sugar added to date mix. Be sure to add cinnamon to the oat/flour mix. Oh and Allpurpose flour works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I haven’t a clue how many cups of dates are in 3/4 lb. and having bought the dates in bulk at an Asian market and not owning a scale, I added just enough chopped dates to reach the top of the water in the pan – approximately 2 cups. I followed other reviewers’ advice and omitted the brown sugar in the date mixture which I cooked on low until they were thick and had a jam consistency. Overall, it was a good dessert bar but I would have preferred less sugar in the crumb mixture. They were very sweet but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Did not turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
These are AWESOME! I wanted to make a healthier version so I substituted the pastry flour for whole wheat, and halved the sugar in the crust, completely left it out of the filling (dates are sweet anyway) and used 1 cup applesauce instead of butter. Also I only used 8 ounces of dates because that's all I had on hand and just squeezed half a lemon into the filling mixture. I added maybe a tablespoon of kairo syrup to the filling, to help it thicken. I don't know if it would have tasted better if I hadn't altered the recipe, but these tasted amazing the way I made them!! And they were super duper easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I found the top to be a bit dry for my liking, but the rest was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I added a full cup of butter as Lorrie suggested and baked the base for 15 minutes before adding the date filling. They cut well and taste great! If you like dates you should try this recipe. Thanks Michelle for posting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I don't like date squares but I made these for my husband. He said they were the best date squares he had ever eaten. Plus, I fed them to his father and other men, and they all said they were the best they have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States