Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Doubled the recipe (had a few less dates on hand), used 1C butter/normal batch (So 2 C for a double batch) & baked in a 9x13 pan. Baked crust first while dates were cooking. Did not dice dates...cooked them whole, then blended briefly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
One thing I did in place of a portion of the water to be added to the dates, I added 1/3 cup of Amaretto and 2/3 cup of water! OMG the flavor! Altogether, great recipe! So easy and a great addition to Holiday sweets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
whenever I make these squares, while heating on the stove top I use my hand mixer and keep mixing, they come out smooth and they dont have any LUMPS at all. just a little tidbit for you'all WATCH for a little splatter, use a tall pot, its HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Harper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Loved the recipe, any chance of freezing these?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious ! will use this one every time, hubby of course had two big pieces !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chappymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is the best date square recipe I have tasted. Everyone enjoyed. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Rich and delicious!! Only made a couple of minor changes. Adding brandy was a real treat. I used all-purpose flour without a problem. Didn’t have lemon, but added a tsp. of vanilla. I used 8 oz. of chopped dates and 8 oz. of Craisins. Replaced half cup of water with good brandy. Added a bit extra liquid, because I had a tad extra fruit. You could do without the 1/3 C. brown sugar in the filling. Baked the bottom crumb layer at 350 for about 7 minutes, per other reviewers, then added the fruit and top crumb layer and baked another 25 min. Thanks, Michele -- will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Not hard to make and my husband who isn't big on sweets loved them. Tasted like a fancy fig bar really rich but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made these date squares, followed the recipe with out any substitutes or changes and I have to say the date filling is way to sweet. Even the children said it was too sweet! I think the next time I make these I will not add any sugar to the date filling and put only 1 cup of flour as some suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made these tonight, and they are very sweet and delicious. I highly suggest reading Lorrie's review before making these. I doubled the recipe and used a larger pan. I pre-baked the bottom oatmeal crumb layer for about 20 minutes before adding the date mixture. I used half the brown sugar in the date mixture and it was plenty sweet. I used Hadley's Medjool dates in the recipe. Very large, sweet and super moist. Spray the knife with "Pam" or coat with oil before chopping dates, and no mess! When cooking the dates, I substituted brewed coffee for half the water. You can't taste the coffee, but I think it adds a deeper layer of richness. My husband hates dates but wants me to save a few of these for him. Making the changes above and allowing to cool completely in the pan makes the bars very easy to cut and serve. So glad to have discovered this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States