Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Awesome! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
LOVE these. Just like mom used to make when I was a kid !! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was way too sweet. I had to cut the sugar by more than half. There is also too much of the crumb mix and not enough dates. I loved the recipe initially but I realize that I always had to adjust the ingredients for it to come out to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Didn't have lemon so squeezed an orange ....wow good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~CrissyN~
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Love this recipe, only changes I made were I used a full pound of dates and made two 7x7 pans so the crust was thinner but still thick enough to provide full base and topping. Tastes just like the ones my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made exactly as in recipe and the best date square recipe I have made! Perfect sweetness and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Yum! I would follow the advice of others that said to add extra butter so that the mixture is not as dry and loose. Other than that, it was a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is a delicious recipe! I've never made date slice before and this was a great one for me to experiment with. I made a few adjustments as I went along.. - added 1/2 Cup of dessicated coconut to the base mixture. - only used 1 dessert spoon of brown sugar in the filling and added 1/2 cup of chopped dried apricots. I also added lemon zest to the filling mixture as well as the juice. - I crumbled the mixture on top so it didn't cover the filling as a whole, and added chopped walnuts and coconut to this mix too. I'll definitely be making this again - it was a hit with the flatmates :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
this was a delicious treat that my kids just loved! they said they wanted more so i baked 5 batches for my 9 kids. They go cukoo for Gramma's date squares ! Thanks gramma, love ya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Fabulous! Tasted great, nice texture (although as others have said, a bit crumbly) Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States