Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Sooo delicious and I especially loved the crust. So moist and melts in your mouth. I reduced the sweetness by using only 3/4 cup brown sugar for crust and 1/4 cup in the filling and was still super sweet. Next time I may halve the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I also did not use sugar with the dates. I used apple sauce, butter & coconut oil. It seems to hold the oats together(coconut oil). I also baked the bottom layer first. Thank-you very much for the basics, I just added my own touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lianabouchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Very tasty! I omitted the sugar from the date filling, and could have put less in the crust. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pan, but this was too small, as it rises quite a bit. Like another reviewer suggested, I baked the crust for 15 minutes before putting the filling and topping on. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was an excellent recipe with just a few changes taken from previous reviews! I used melted butter in the crust and baked the bottom before adding the filling. I did not use brown sugar in the filling. Really really good! I love the crunch you get from using the melted butter. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Changed nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Horning
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Delicious! Crumbly, buttery goodness! I sliced guava filling in the middle instead of the dates and they turned out wonderful. This recipe with be a staple in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Horning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Turned out great! Date squares are my favourite and you have to try really really hard to make a bad batch. Things I did because I can -no brown sugar with the date layer*** dates are natures sugar -added chopped pecans for a crunch - doubled amounts of lemon juice with fresh sqeazed lime, you can really taste it Things I will try next time -less sugar in the crust - give a higher oats vs flour ratio, it didn't seem look right -cook for 30 minutes, 25 isn't enough to give the crumble layer texture. Maybe it's my oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I doubled the date filling and used maple extract. I one and a halfed the crumbs and used a 9 X 13 pan. This was great! Thank you Michelle :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Made this last night and it was a huge hit! I didn't have pastry flour so I had to substitute with corn starch & all purpose. I also substituted with vanilla extract. I took my dates, sugar, water, extract, & salt and placed al items in the vitamin until it was chopped well. My kids swear they don't like dates, so I thought I would make it have a smoother texture. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I always use this recipe..I don't add sugar to the date mixture as like everyone says, they are sweet enough on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States