Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great date squares. Super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I like this recipe, it reminds me of the ones my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Made these for my parents and they LOVED them. I used vanilla instead of lemon juice. I actually goofed on the recipe and used 1 cup of butter so to make up for it I added 1/2 cup extra rolled oats. They couldn't tell so why should I? ;) If you like date squares then use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I did follow other's suggestion of reducing the sugar in half and it turned out perfectly. This is definitely going to be my go-to date square recipe. Thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little.mrs.h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
These were great - didn't change a thing! I will definitely make them again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I made these with a gluten-free flour mix and they were amazing! The almond extract made them just perfect. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These are great. I substituted 1/2 of the butter for applesauce, and leaving in that little bit of butter left them crunchy yet lower in fat. I also left out the sugar in the date filling as they were plenty sweet on their own. This is somewhat unlike other date square recipes as I found that the filling was soft and creamy (probably due to leaving out the sugar). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Would give 5 stars but made too many changes ...NO salt, NO baking soda, NO sugar with dates (added vanilla extract instead of lemon juice), HALF the sugar in flour/oat mix AND MELTED THE BUTTER with part OIL to equal 1/2 cup and it held together beautifully. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lj_

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Made these tonite and they turned out great. I cut back a bit of the sugar and cooked the bottom crust for a bit as previously suggested and they are great...a new favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very good!!! We've made these several times are never disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States