Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Excellent way to get the kids some more fiber in their diets! I ommitted the additional sugar called for with the dates, and it was sweet enough. Also cut back on the butter, using applesauce instead. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I don't eat date squares, but I sell them at a market and I had so many compliments on these that I threw out any other date square recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I love this, I made the recipe exactly like it said except i didn't do a thing to my dates. I bought them in a sqare pkg so once they came apart and cooked down I was pleased with the little hunks of dates. Anyway, I suppose omitting sugar is a good idea since it iss really sweet. I'll definitely try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by For.the.love.of.CAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great recipe, I used all purpose flour, and it tasted great. I used chopped dates bought from the bulk store. They worked out just fine. No messy prep. Worth the little extra cost, with no change in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Button

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
First time making date squares and this recipe was true to the title and tasted just like Grandma's. Super easy to follow, and oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I've prepared this recipe 6 times and used the the exact ingredients every time. I wouldn't change a thing. My wife tells me her mother use to make them and they were not as mushy. I'm sure this is not a complaint though. I have trouble keeping some for me. She eats most of them and gives some to her co-workers bragging my ability. GREAT RECIPE it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAY-AL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is almost just like the one my grandma makes! LOVE IT! Only difference is she uses raisins instead of dates and vanilla instead of lemon juice. Awesome! Oh, and her recipe was called Matrimonial Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe! Exactly what I was looking for. The squares set nicely and held together. As per some reviews, I packed down the crust very well and baked the crust for 6 mins - while the dates were cooking. I also didn't add the sugar to the dates because the dates I bought were "honey dates" and quite sweet as they are. I packed down the topping, too, the best I could, and the result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very, very good. I used whole medjool dates that I pitted and diced and used spelt flour in place of pastry flour. I also used both lemon juice and vanilla in the dates. My mom and I used to make these from a boxed mix when I was a kid, and we loved them. These are even better than what I remember. Thanks for bringing back the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Excellent - reminds me of my grandmother's squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States