Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Very similar to a recipe from my Mom. If you like really sweet date squares, add the brown sugar to the dates, otherwise, leave it out as they are naturally sweet on their own. Don't bother dicing dates - put them in the saucepan and cook a little longer if needed but they soften up nicely and it saves a whole lot of time. You might need to add a touch more water and watch them that they don't burn. Only other comment is that I add in a bit more oats and mix the crumble by hands till you get your preferred consistency. The crumble made according to recipe is a bit buttery so I added about an additional 1/2 cup of oats. Very good and thanks. I had to make it as soon as I saw the recipe pop up on the "daily".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casserdo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kanata, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These are just like my Gram's!! I never got the recipe from her before she died. This is perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Changes I made based on reviews and personal preference: 1) For the 3/4 C butter, I used 1/4 C butter, 1/4 C coconut oil and 1/4 C applesauce. I melted before adding to my dry mix. . 2) Used whole wheat flour, worked great. . 3) Halved the sugar in the crust and omitted it entirely from the dates. Can't imagine adding it--would be WAY too sweet. . 4) Added some cloves, cinnamon and allspice to the date mix, which gave a spicy Fall flavor. May leave them out next time as it masked the date flavor. . 5) Precooked the bottom crust for 15 min, no problems with mine falling apart. . Thanks for such a lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
oatmeal, brown sugar and butter are my baking trifecta so this recipe did not disappoint. I did increase the butter from 3/4 c to 1 full cup and added only a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar to the date filling as extra sweetening is not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Utah, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Real winner in my household. Instead of dicing the dates, went ahead and cooked them, then gently processed with an immersion blender (the wand ones), until a thick, slightly chunky puree. Was easy and spread nicely in the pan. May be able to use a standard blender or food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I think this is probably an excellent recipe as it was beautiful, the crust and topping was delicious, and the date filling was a nice consistency and very moist. I'm just realizing though that I don't particularly like dates. I imagine that if you do like dates this is what you would be looking for. I might try this with an apricot filling and if I do I'll update this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Family LOVES these!!! Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Good recipe, but too sugary. I didn't add any brown sugar into the date mixture and next time I make it I'll use 1/2 of brown sugar in the dough mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petawawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Simply delicious! I made these for my Dad's Bday, he's gonna love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluucantu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Excellent! Exactly how the recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrAcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States