Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe! Easy to make and even easier to eat. My family loved this treat. Will definately make again. Forgot the lemon juice but didn't notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy Taggart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Tried this recipe today. They turned out great! As a few other reviews mentioned the sugar in the dates, I did not add it either. If you have a very sweet tooth, by all means add it. I only had an 8x8 pan so I had to bake them about 30 minutes but really enjoyed the result. If they start to get browner than you like, just place a piece of foil over them to slow/stop the browning. I would recommend this to anyone,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Musquodoboit, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These ended up being way too sweet, despite the fact that I omitted the 1/3 cup brown sugar in the filling mixture. ~Dissapointed. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
these are the dates squares i was looking for soo bad!! finally i found them!! yey!! they are sooo prfect!! i agree, DO NOT add sugar to the dates, they are too sweet! the only changes i did were, first, i divided sugar into 3/4 splenda (white original splenda) and 1/4 brown sugar they came out perfectly! also instead of 2 teaspoons of lemon juice i divided it into 1 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp vanilla! they are sooo deliciouslyy addictive! i totaly recommend it and i will be doing this recipie over and over again!!! 10 stars!!! I used all purpose flower, it works perfectly too! because my pan was a little bit larger i had to make more crust, i wont agree to the reviewer who said more filling would be better, i think the amount of filling is perfect for the amount of crust! they held soo perfect! i just loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Thanks for the excellent recipe and member inputs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good recipe. I doubled the recipe and it turned out great, use a very large pan or you will end up with rearly thick squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, it turned out wonderful, I ended up making two smaller pans lined with parchment paper (disposable tins, easier to take places if need be) I got the best praise ever.. the words we all want to hear "Wow better than Mom's!" lol thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oromocto, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
followed noas instructions and it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Date squares are one of my favorites and this is the first time I attempted to make them. Somehow I always thought dates would be too hard to work with to have any kind of success. I read alot of the reviews and incorporated many of the suggestions into my personal preference. I don't care for too much base or topping, so I had extra left over; I just froze it for my next batch. The suggestion to bake the base for 15 min before adding the filling was the best idea!! The sweetness to the filling is just as I like and I added vanilla for good measure. These are even better the next day once the flavors have blended together. Thanks for this great recipe Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These are really good, almost like my Grama used to make. I only gave it 4stars because It needs a couple changes. Next time I will double the date filling (no sugar to the dates, they are sweet enough on their own) And double the pan size. I found these had too much crust for my taste, so instead of down sizing the crust I will up the filling and make a larger pan, because let's face it, you will always want more. Update: I wanted to make a healthy batch for myself, so I used Splenda brown sugar blend, and it worked fantastic. I also subbed 1/2 the butter for applesauce, now I should really know better, usually anything with this type of crust you shouldn't use applesauce, but there were reviews stating they used applesauce and they loved it. NO!!! Do not use apple sauce, the crust is completely nasty then, it is too chewy and just wrong. Some times you just can't give up the bad butter that makes everything taste so good, and this is one of those times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States