Gramma's Date Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I followed some of the other viewers suggestions. I added more butter and baked the bottom crust for 10 minutes or so. I omitted the salt and baking soda since pastry flour was used. Also the butter was unsalted (always should be unless otherwise stated but I don't always have it on hand). I did add a tablespoon of brown sugar to dates but really don't need it. Very easy recipe and after the adjustments, turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOKAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Good recipe! I did make a few changes. Halved sugar in crumble and none in dates. And I used coffee instead of water to make the filling. I found the crumble very dry, next time I will melt the butter first or use a little extra. i had quick-cooking oats which I think made it drier so no fault to your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
These were excellent and easy to prepare. I was surprised at how easy it was to make the date filling. I didn't add sugar to it as other reviewers suggested, and thank goodness; they were just perfect. This recipe is versatile where the date filling could be substituted for a different fruit mix like dried apricots, or something similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle_dimsum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
yes 10 stars indeed. although I did use cranberries and followed the advice of other reviews for the crispier crust, these bars only lasted a day and a half in our house. It is like something from starbucks. Bravo Gramma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe! Easy to make and even easier to eat. My family loved this treat. Will definately make again. Forgot the lemon juice but didn't notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy Taggart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Tried this recipe today. They turned out great! As a few other reviews mentioned the sugar in the dates, I did not add it either. If you have a very sweet tooth, by all means add it. I only had an 8x8 pan so I had to bake them about 30 minutes but really enjoyed the result. If they start to get browner than you like, just place a piece of foil over them to slow/stop the browning. I would recommend this to anyone,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Musquodoboit, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These ended up being way too sweet, despite the fact that I omitted the 1/3 cup brown sugar in the filling mixture. ~Dissapointed. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
these are the dates squares i was looking for soo bad!! finally i found them!! yey!! they are sooo prfect!! i agree, DO NOT add sugar to the dates, they are too sweet! the only changes i did were, first, i divided sugar into 3/4 splenda (white original splenda) and 1/4 brown sugar they came out perfectly! also instead of 2 teaspoons of lemon juice i divided it into 1 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp vanilla! they are sooo deliciouslyy addictive! i totaly recommend it and i will be doing this recipie over and over again!!! 10 stars!!! I used all purpose flower, it works perfectly too! because my pan was a little bit larger i had to make more crust, i wont agree to the reviewer who said more filling would be better, i think the amount of filling is perfect for the amount of crust! they held soo perfect! i just loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Thanks for the excellent recipe and member inputs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good recipe. I doubled the recipe and it turned out great, use a very large pan or you will end up with rearly thick squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States