Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This came out great - I had a TON of left over homemade challah bread and ended up throwing in a bit more (still have some left)and that seemed to take care of the undone problem that some reviewers have mentioned. Other than that, it came out great - I did it just as the directions said. And YES - it DID make my house smell AMAZING!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Yummy! I actually made it with Strawberries rather than Apples. Wonderful and I was skeptical with some of the reviews I had read. But I loved the very moist texture. I was also nervous because both stovetop mixtures included milk and they curdled a little. But that didn't make any difference in the final product. But I did add about a tsp. of corn starch to the sauce to thicken it a little more. Overall - Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
A big hit at dinner last night. Served it to a house full of guests and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I have made this twice and it has come out wonderful each time. My boyfriend LOVES it. It's best if you use cubes of an older Italian bread loaf. I'd never tried it before this recipe, but now doubt I'll ever use anything else. It is a little custardy, due to the egg mixture, but that just makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was described as "heavenly" and made people forget all about Thanksgiving pies. So delicious. We took the advice in reviews and used a water bath, which made it soft, creamy, and perfect. Added a shot of brandy and some pecans to the sauce. Oh yeah, and my boyfriend used half-and-half instead of milk! Did I mention it's really good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I just made this pudding and it is delicious. The apples really set off the flavour. Of course I doubled the vanilla but what was with the 1/2 cup of margarine in the sauce. It all separated so I poured off the butter which floated to the top and the sauce was just fine after that. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was delicious!! I'll be making this again. I used 3 granny smith apples in mine. If you like bread pudding, you should give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
SOOOOO GOOOOD! I had some apples that were going bad and needed to find something to do with them. I found this recipe and tweeked it a little bit but i'm sure it would be great without changes. I didn't have enough 'soft' bread crumbs so i used some dry bread pieces from a variety of different wheat breads and because of that i increased the milk by about 1/2 a cup. I also used Pumpkin Pie Spice and omitted the vanilla extract but only because i didn't have any. My fiancee couldn't wait for it to finish cooking but after he took 1 bite he stopped playing his PS3 to tell me how good it was. DELICIOUS and i will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was just ok for me .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimnic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I soaked the raisins in Calvados (apple brandy) for 1/2 hour. Sauteed the apples in an extra 1/4 cup of butter. When the apples were tender crisp I added the raisins and brandy just until heated, then added them to the bread as directed. Using the remaining liquid as part of the milk measurement, I then cooked the sugars, etc. and added to the bread. The brandy added an extra dimension of richness. I will make this one agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States