Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Delicious and great consistency. As I normally do, I substituted splenda for the sugar and splenda blend for the brown sugar. The sauce topping didn't turn out so good so I threw it out but the pudding didn't need it anyway. Dollop of whipped cream and it was great. Also, I sliced the apples in my first batch but found it better to chop them up in my second batch. It more evenly dispursed the apples and the moisture from them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I added a little extra cinnamon and vanilla to suit our tastes and it turned out great! I didn't make the vanilla sauce, just used some vanilla ice cream or ate it plain. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Too much sugar & margarine. Pudding was soupy. Needs more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very satisfying! This recipe is easily halved, which is terrific if you're cooking for only two. I used an 8x8 inch square baking dish, followed the recipe exactly (except halving each item), and baked for 50 minutes at 350. The consistency was a perfect combination of creamy, firm, and just slightly toasty on top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I was looking for a bread pudding recipe that was easy to modify for a healthier version and this looked perfect because it was already lower in fat than other recipes without the sauce, which apparently most reviewers didn't even make because this recipe is already delicious without it. That long sentence was all to say that I made this, substituted half the brown sugar with splenda, use applesauce instead of margarine, used fat free milk added a splash of orange juice, and didn't make the sauce. I served it at a party and no even knew it was a low-fat dessert. Top with a dollop of fat free coolwhip for a special treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milia
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious! My kids loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I made this super quick and it was very good. The only thing i would complain about is that I didnt have the right size pan, but it didnt matter much. I loved the apples in it, my husband ate it with some ice cream. Its a nice way to use up bread before it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I am on a gluten and dairy-free diet so I had to adapt this recipe, but it still was a major hit with the neighbors. I used guten free white bread, and vanilla soy milk instead of cow's milk. I also used 1/2 cup of Blue Agave syrup instead of the brown sugar in pudding. I didn't have raisins so I used craisins plus a 1/3 cup of white chocolate chips. I also bumped up the vanilla extract to 1 tsp. The sauce also was changed to 1/4 cup agave syrup instead of white sugar and only 3 tablespoons of butter in place of the margarine. I threw in a shot of bourbon to make it a hard sauce. It came out quite decadent, I must say. It was great served warm and even better the next day served cold with a warm hard sauce poured over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Once I decreased the brown sugar to 1/2 c., it was better suited to our family's tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I just made this and it is delicious. I subbed egg beaters for the real eggs to cut the cholesterol and added 3/4 cup butterscoth chips. I didn't add raisins, personal preference. It is golden, fluffy, oh so simple. I baked it for 40 minutes. I like to scoop vanilla ice cream out of the carton into a bowl and let it melt. Then it can be poured on top of any dessert, kind of like a creme anglese. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States