Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I have made this twice and it has come out wonderful each time. My boyfriend LOVES it. It's best if you use cubes of an older Italian bread loaf. I'd never tried it before this recipe, but now doubt I'll ever use anything else. It is a little custardy, due to the egg mixture, but that just makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was described as "heavenly" and made people forget all about Thanksgiving pies. So delicious. We took the advice in reviews and used a water bath, which made it soft, creamy, and perfect. Added a shot of brandy and some pecans to the sauce. Oh yeah, and my boyfriend used half-and-half instead of milk! Did I mention it's really good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I just made this pudding and it is delicious. The apples really set off the flavour. Of course I doubled the vanilla but what was with the 1/2 cup of margarine in the sauce. It all separated so I poured off the butter which floated to the top and the sauce was just fine after that. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was delicious!! I'll be making this again. I used 3 granny smith apples in mine. If you like bread pudding, you should give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
SOOOOO GOOOOD! I had some apples that were going bad and needed to find something to do with them. I found this recipe and tweeked it a little bit but i'm sure it would be great without changes. I didn't have enough 'soft' bread crumbs so i used some dry bread pieces from a variety of different wheat breads and because of that i increased the milk by about 1/2 a cup. I also used Pumpkin Pie Spice and omitted the vanilla extract but only because i didn't have any. My fiancee couldn't wait for it to finish cooking but after he took 1 bite he stopped playing his PS3 to tell me how good it was. DELICIOUS and i will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was just ok for me .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimnic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I soaked the raisins in Calvados (apple brandy) for 1/2 hour. Sauteed the apples in an extra 1/4 cup of butter. When the apples were tender crisp I added the raisins and brandy just until heated, then added them to the bread as directed. Using the remaining liquid as part of the milk measurement, I then cooked the sugars, etc. and added to the bread. The brandy added an extra dimension of richness. I will make this one agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very easy recipe to make. I used raisin challah bread and added some walnuts. I also substituted maple flavoring for the vanilla and added more cinnamon. I didn't make the sauce. If I wanted something extra I would get some vanilla ice cream or whipping cream but it was great without it. I halved the recipe and it fit in a 8 x 8 pan and cooked in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was very good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
So delicious!!! I increased this recipe a bit since I had extra bread to get rid of (added more bread, apples, +1 egg, and milk). I didn't make the vanilla sauce... I don't think it needs it at all, even though I'm sure it would be good too. I used Gala apples and baked in a 9x13 for about 40 minutes. I had to eat some right out of the oven because it smelled so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States