Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Not sweet enough for us. I did increase the bread but it was a sweetened cinnamon bread. Still very tasty! Yes, I'd make it again . . . mixing dry ingredients and liquids separately, then combine in one bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eatn4u2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Made this twice after I started saving the bread heels in my freezer. It turns out great. I have had a request for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made this just today. I too used 1/4 cup of margarine and cooked the apples and raisins to soften the apples and plump the raisins. It was wonderful. Just as I remembered my mother and grandmother making it. Brought back fond memories. Easy to make. My suggestion would be on the sauce. Cut back the margarine to 1/4 cup. That's plenty for this recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This recipe was...ok. Not as good as the Bread Pudding II on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
LOVE this recipe! I have made it soooooooooo many times & every time it gets better! I add the cinnamon to the bread instead of the eggs because it doesn't mix well in liquid & I add apple pie spice too, then I mix everything in the bowl till everything is wet then pour it into the prepared pan & bake it as directed. 45 minutes later you have a little batch of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Provancher

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Maywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this and it was delicious! I made only small changes, based on the advice of other reviewers: added ginger, allspice, and nutmeg. I also didn't peel the apples because that seemed like too much work, but I prefer it that way! I used sweet honey crisp apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Although I generally dislike bread pudding, this is a very good recipe for it. I used pears instead of apples, and cooked the fruit separately with a bit of sugar. I also needed to use about 1/4 c. of extra milk to keep the bread soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Great recipe to use up leftover bread and extra apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Totally doesn't even need the sauce. If you want sauce though, i would just drizzle maple syrup over it. So delicious. i used a 9 x 13 pan of this recipe and it was not to soggy or to dry. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Yummo! In Louisiana we eat bread pudding often, and it closely resembled the taste you may find in a restaurant. It was super easy too. I sliced the apples really thin, and baked in a 9x13 pan since I didn't have a 7x11. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States