Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Actually 4.5 stars. This is a nice soft bread pudding but I like it a little firmer so I'll add another egg next time. This has great flavor and IMHO doesn't need the sauce, which I ended up not making. I plumped the raisins first and sautéed the apples in the butter as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
We love raisins so we did a full cup on a double batch. The only thing I would change is next time I think I going to cut the milk back to 3 cups (double batch) to make it a bit dryer. I also think that using fresh peaches would be a great substitute for apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Followed the directions, and had to bake it to death, consistency was watery, soggy bread. The only good thing was how it made the house smell. I'd use 1/2 the milk, add an egg, add more cinnamon and cook the apples and drain before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is the best bread pudding that I have ever made. I have been baking it for several years now, and I have had many requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Not sweet enough for us. I did increase the bread but it was a sweetened cinnamon bread. Still very tasty! Yes, I'd make it again . . . mixing dry ingredients and liquids separately, then combine in one bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eatn4u2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Made this twice after I started saving the bread heels in my freezer. It turns out great. I have had a request for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made this just today. I too used 1/4 cup of margarine and cooked the apples and raisins to soften the apples and plump the raisins. It was wonderful. Just as I remembered my mother and grandmother making it. Brought back fond memories. Easy to make. My suggestion would be on the sauce. Cut back the margarine to 1/4 cup. That's plenty for this recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This recipe was...ok. Not as good as the Bread Pudding II on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
LOVE this recipe! I have made it soooooooooo many times & every time it gets better! I add the cinnamon to the bread instead of the eggs because it doesn't mix well in liquid & I add apple pie spice too, then I mix everything in the bowl till everything is wet then pour it into the prepared pan & bake it as directed. 45 minutes later you have a little batch of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Provancher

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Maywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States