Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Ay Sontespli
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
A wonderful recipe! I pretty much followed the recipe for once and was happy with the results. The only change I will make for next time: either pre cook the apples a bit or grate them. Also I cooked my Apple Bread Pudding in a bain marie with absolutely fabulous results! I didn't make the Vanilla Sauce though I might next time just to give it a try. I did serve with a choice of Vanilla Ice Cream or Pouring Custard. Husband says it was awesome with Custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Wow!! I wish I could give it more than just five stars. This was truly extra special!! I had a mixture of whole wheat and white hot dog buns to use up and a couple pieces of cinnamon bread. I ended up using 6 cups of bread cubes. I also had a mushy apple that was headed towards the trash, so I cut that up. I used a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of nutmeg and it turned out perfectly. Not soupy at all. If I wasn't so full I'd have another serving. Didn't make the sauce, we used whipped cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
i have only made this once, but it was super yummy and will make it again. i used Texas Toast for the bread which made perfect cubes. we are not a raisin friendly house, so i omitted them. the apples were a perfectly tart match for the sweetness of the pudding. my glaze separated, so it wasn't that great. plus, i think it might have pushed the pudding a little over the sweetness threshold. but overall a great dish. it is now in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
im on vacation renting a cabin , and only have an electric skillet . my boyfriend says its better than his grandmas! i used heavy cream instead of milk ,3 eggs[not2] simmered the puddin about 1 hour on 200 degrees.throwed the vanilla sauce on top and it was scrumptous!sautee apples &raisens in 1/2 cup o brown sugar/stick o butter 1st.then add rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I must of done something wrong. I couldn't decide if it was under cooked or if the consistancy was suppose to be like that (mushy soggy bread). The vanilla sauce was a buttery mess. I didn't even serve any to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Wonderful, like a cross between apple pie and bread pudding. I added a 1/2 cup of craisins. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My husband and I made this yesterday & we both agree this is one of the yummiest things we've ever made! We used French bread from the grocery store bakery and once it was all put together we let it sit covered in the frige for about 30 minutes. The sauce adds extra deliciousness. Thanks so much for posting this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I thought the pudding itself was nice, but with the sauce it is very yummy. Makes LOTS of sauce, I didn't need to use all of it. I also cut back on the sugar in both the pudding and sauce (not by a lot, but just a little).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I'll admit, this was my first attempt at making a bread pudding, but I have eaten a ton if them in my lifetime, so I knew what I was looking for. If I could give this 10 stars I would! It was SO GOOD and SO EASY. I made it in a mad rush last night to use up some leftover bread before a few friends came over, and the only things I changed were the following out of necessity: I used one apple and upped the raisins a bit to make up for it, I upped the vanilla to a whole teaspoon because I was reading the recipe fast, and I didn't have time to make the sauce. I stuck it in the fridge for about an hour before I baked it to give it time to soak up the mixture, and I could not BELIEVE how heavenly this turned out for such a quick and easy bread pudding requiring items that are almost always in your kitchen anyway. MAKE THIS TONIGHT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goudamanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Very yummy. I make two different bread puddings and I like to call this one my sweet recipe. I agree with another reviewer who mentioned that it may be best to only make half of the vanilla sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States