Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I used the most helpfull review to make the recipe, it was gone less than an hour! best bread pudding I've ever baked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daria

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Doo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
The flavor of the pudding is very good (I didn't make the sauce) but it's WAY too watery. My pan baked for over an hour and still wasn't set the way I thought it should be done. The dish was really easy to assemble, but I don't know if I'll mess with this again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Delicious! I substituted applesauce for the butter and didn't make the sauce. Very similar to a baked french toast casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Excellent recipe - we've served it with vanilla ice cream, the vanilla sauce, maple syrup, and a bourbon sauce (instead of vanilla, add 2-3 Tbsp of good bourbon to this sauce) - and we can't decide which we like best! One note: I've used a full 2 cups of milk each time, which makes it very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Awesome. This recipe has become my new favorite bread pudding recipe. Especially good in the fall. A great way to use up all those apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I read the reviews and made some changes. I used 4 eggs instead of 2 (based on the reviews that it was watery), and I added 1 tbls of flour to the egg mixture. I let the milk/brownsugar/butter combo cool on the stove, and added the egg mixture directly to that and poured it over the bread & apples all at once. Then I baked it in a water bath, which helped it cook a lot quicker and more evenly. With those changes, the recipe came out amazing, my hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I love this recipe and I make it all the time.. I give it 4-stars b/c I think it is overly-sweet as written. But when I make my adjustments, it is a 5-star dessert! I use about 4-5cups bread and about 3/4 cup sugar. I always toss in extra apple chunks and cinnamon. I use the ends of whole wheat bread and have even used oatmeal and nut breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
this was the first time ever making bread pudding, this recipe was easy, the only thing that I changed was I sauted the apples first in a tbspn of butter and 2 tbspns of brown sugar to soften up the apples and it added extra moistness to the pudding and it was awesome...my family loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I liked this, but I was alone in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States