Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Mine turned out a bit wet the first time, so I modified the recipe to 5 cups of bread cubes (I used a French bread loaf). For the sauce, I made a caramel (equal parts butter and brown sugar) and added raspberry Chambord and lit it, then drizzled on top of servings and sprinkled each with a couple of fresh raspberries! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KS Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made this for a picnic in the park on this summer-like day with my sister. She just kept mmming as she ate it and said it was fabulous. I did add two more eggs and an additional 1/2 cup of milk as I do like a rich custard bread pudding and felt I could have added at least one more. I used organic Granny Smith apples as I thought the tartness would be a good counterpoint to the sweetness of the pudding and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
10 STAR GOOD! This is not a "diet" dessert so be warned but whatever calories you do consume will be SO worth it....TRUST ME! The only changes I made to this recipe was the use of butter and 1/2 and 1/2 and I baked it in a water bath....as for the sauce some liked the "butter" vanilla combo and some thought it was to much....I poured the warm sauce over my pudding while it was still hot and it was FABU! Oh YES! I halved the recipe and added an extra egg as other's suggested. My husband RAVED and said I can make this again and again. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this recipe. It has been printed and will go into my private cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nov111805

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
DH had been strongly hinting that he would like some bread pudding (even bought a little cookbook of breading pudding recipes for me while on vaca this summer). Decided on this recipe the other day. Followed suggestions of softening apple slices in skillet. Left out raisins. Made sauce as directed. This was absolutely delicious. It does make way more sauce than is needed for one pan, but it is yummy! Thanks for a great recipe! It's one I will definitely be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
it is very good.even without any sauce i will definitely do it again.I used toast bread.And didn't make the sauce and still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I was really disappointed. It was way too soggy even after 1 hour in the oven. I will stick with my family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to make and was a great switch from our usual apple pie. I'll defiinitely use this one again. The vanilla sauce was soooooooo good. It can be used with other desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was a huge hit! I used left over whole wheat bread I had made and used splenda brown sugar. I didn't end up making the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savanna, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very good but very rich! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Schuster Altmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States