Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
DH had been strongly hinting that he would like some bread pudding (even bought a little cookbook of breading pudding recipes for me while on vaca this summer). Decided on this recipe the other day. Followed suggestions of softening apple slices in skillet. Left out raisins. Made sauce as directed. This was absolutely delicious. It does make way more sauce than is needed for one pan, but it is yummy! Thanks for a great recipe! It's one I will definitely be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
it is very good.even without any sauce i will definitely do it again.I used toast bread.And didn't make the sauce and still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I was really disappointed. It was way too soggy even after 1 hour in the oven. I will stick with my family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to make and was a great switch from our usual apple pie. I'll defiinitely use this one again. The vanilla sauce was soooooooo good. It can be used with other desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was a huge hit! I used left over whole wheat bread I had made and used splenda brown sugar. I didn't end up making the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savanna, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very good but very rich! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was my first time making bread pudding and it was FABULOUS! My family loved it! The only thing I would do differently is reduce the sauce. It was SO rich and I love it as it is but less sauce would probably mean less tummy ache right now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I used Kings Hawaiian sweet bread for this recipe, and it was great! If you buy the rolls, I found about 10 of them was sufficient. I was a bit worried about it being to sweet, so I used granny smith apples and it balances out nicely. I took another reviewers suggestion and sauteed the sliced apples and raisins in a little bit of butter before adding it to the bread. I also didn't make the sauce. I made it the night before a party and served it cold, it went over great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jShizz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Exta rich and definately not for the dieters. I served this easter morning and it was a big hit with the kids all five loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ay Sontespli
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
A wonderful recipe! I pretty much followed the recipe for once and was happy with the results. The only change I will make for next time: either pre cook the apples a bit or grate them. Also I cooked my Apple Bread Pudding in a bain marie with absolutely fabulous results! I didn't make the Vanilla Sauce though I might next time just to give it a try. I did serve with a choice of Vanilla Ice Cream or Pouring Custard. Husband says it was awesome with Custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 111-120 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States