Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I love the recipe; it's very rich, be sure to pour a tall glass of milk! I did not care for the sauce, however. Other reviewers mentioned vanilla ice cream--good call!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very good but I did add more bread cubes and added extra egg. I didn't make the vanilla sauce, just served with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This turned out fabulous. I didn't have a 7x11 baker so I adjusted the recipe to a 9x13. It wasn't very thick, so next time I will use an even smaller pan or more ingredients. The sauce was a little watery, but the flavor was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Delicious, even without the vanilla sauce. The second time I made it, I was craving it but only had a variety of leftovers on hand. I used leftover Apple Betty and leftover apple crumble, added some cubed focaccia and chopped pear, and then threw in raisins, dried cranberries & dates, and chopped walnuts. I dropped the sugar and spices down a bit to account for the already seasoned leftovers, but kept the milk, butter, eggs the same. YUM! I know my second effort sounds very different from the original recipe, but it just shows that this recipe is a great base and adapts wonderfully to additions and changes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Mine turned out a bit wet the first time, so I modified the recipe to 5 cups of bread cubes (I used a French bread loaf). For the sauce, I made a caramel (equal parts butter and brown sugar) and added raspberry Chambord and lit it, then drizzled on top of servings and sprinkled each with a couple of fresh raspberries! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KS Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made this for a picnic in the park on this summer-like day with my sister. She just kept mmming as she ate it and said it was fabulous. I did add two more eggs and an additional 1/2 cup of milk as I do like a rich custard bread pudding and felt I could have added at least one more. I used organic Granny Smith apples as I thought the tartness would be a good counterpoint to the sweetness of the pudding and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
10 STAR GOOD! This is not a "diet" dessert so be warned but whatever calories you do consume will be SO worth it....TRUST ME! The only changes I made to this recipe was the use of butter and 1/2 and 1/2 and I baked it in a water bath....as for the sauce some liked the "butter" vanilla combo and some thought it was to much....I poured the warm sauce over my pudding while it was still hot and it was FABU! Oh YES! I halved the recipe and added an extra egg as other's suggested. My husband RAVED and said I can make this again and again. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this recipe. It has been printed and will go into my private cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
DH had been strongly hinting that he would like some bread pudding (even bought a little cookbook of breading pudding recipes for me while on vaca this summer). Decided on this recipe the other day. Followed suggestions of softening apple slices in skillet. Left out raisins. Made sauce as directed. This was absolutely delicious. It does make way more sauce than is needed for one pan, but it is yummy! Thanks for a great recipe! It's one I will definitely be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
it is very good.even without any sauce i will definitely do it again.I used toast bread.And didn't make the sauce and still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 111-120 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States