Gramma's Apple Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Great recipe! I used chopped canned peaches instead of apples, dried cherries instead of raisins, only 3 cups of bread (whole wheat), butter not margarine, and fresh nutmeg. Didn't make the sauce, served it warm with fat free vanilla frozen yogurt. Moist and delicious with a nice little crunch on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Made this bread pudding today. Used 1 1/4 C milk and 1 C. Fat Free Half & Half. 4 eggs, 1/2 c. chopped walnuts and added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the seasonings and served it with Cool Whip. Very Moist & Yummy !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Good flavor but a bit too dry. Cream helped as did vanilla ice cream on top. Easy to do and a good way to use leftover raisin-cinnamon bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I love the recipe; it's very rich, be sure to pour a tall glass of milk! I did not care for the sauce, however. Other reviewers mentioned vanilla ice cream--good call!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very good but I did add more bread cubes and added extra egg. I didn't make the vanilla sauce, just served with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This turned out fabulous. I didn't have a 7x11 baker so I adjusted the recipe to a 9x13. It wasn't very thick, so next time I will use an even smaller pan or more ingredients. The sauce was a little watery, but the flavor was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Delicious, even without the vanilla sauce. The second time I made it, I was craving it but only had a variety of leftovers on hand. I used leftover Apple Betty and leftover apple crumble, added some cubed focaccia and chopped pear, and then threw in raisins, dried cranberries & dates, and chopped walnuts. I dropped the sugar and spices down a bit to account for the already seasoned leftovers, but kept the milk, butter, eggs the same. YUM! I know my second effort sounds very different from the original recipe, but it just shows that this recipe is a great base and adapts wonderfully to additions and changes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Mine turned out a bit wet the first time, so I modified the recipe to 5 cups of bread cubes (I used a French bread loaf). For the sauce, I made a caramel (equal parts butter and brown sugar) and added raspberry Chambord and lit it, then drizzled on top of servings and sprinkled each with a couple of fresh raspberries! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KS Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made this for a picnic in the park on this summer-like day with my sister. She just kept mmming as she ate it and said it was fabulous. I did add two more eggs and an additional 1/2 cup of milk as I do like a rich custard bread pudding and felt I could have added at least one more. I used organic Granny Smith apples as I thought the tartness would be a good counterpoint to the sweetness of the pudding and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States