Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very easy - I did add some spices, whatever I had on hand. I made a chicken pot pie with the leftovers. I added some shredded rotisserie chicken and stuck it between two rolled pie crusts. Easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I only gave this four stars because I like chowder to be thicker. Changes I made was made a roux with 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup flour cooked for 1 min then add 2 cups milk. I also add some shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My son came home on leave and said he wanted me to make corn chowder, he had tasted it at a friends house up in Washington State, I had never made it before, but thought this recipe looked like something our family would like. We LOVED it!!! I made some little changes, I used half and half and I cooked the bacon in the oven, added the crumbled bacon to the soup and as a garnishment. I sprinkled the bacon ontop of some grated cheddar cheese, right before I served it. With some french bread it was a really great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I made a few changes.....I didn't have any broth so I used chix bouillon.I also had a hard time getting it to thick'n up.It tasted really good,but not sure if I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystle_Tollett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Most Excellent!! Although I used cream instead of milk and crisp cooked the bacon from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I picked this recipe( never made a corn chowder before) since it seemed like the easiest one that I could play around with. I learned a couple of things while doing so: 1) I love spicy foods so I thought it wouldn't hurt to add a pinch of chilli powder, but I would not recommend it; it overwhelms and doesn't match with the soup. 2)Water was fine in lieu of broth, but if you use the liquid in the cans, cut it down from 4 to 2 c. 30I only had regular corn, no creamed style, and it was still fine. 4)If you do puree it, don't add the carrots; the carrot flavor dominates then. 5)I used milk and it was fine. 6) Omitting the bacon and sauteeing in a little oil is still great 6)Next time, I'll try it without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I used one more can of corn than called for, and heavy cream instead of milk, b/c I like a thicker chowder. This is a great recipe for cold days, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc's Wife 07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I have made this AMAZING Corn Chowder a number of times for my partner. Her childhood favorite as her Granny made it for her. This absolutely came close to Granny and has become a favorite Good for The Soul Soup. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Extra Bacon Garlic Salt Sweet Baby Carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SepulvedaMom
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
As is this is a 3 star in my book, just okay. I ended up adding a lot of spices and herbs, some cheeze, and an extra can of creamed corn and it was a lot more flavorful. But without these Im afraid its rather bland. With these additions, it is very yummy and will please the company and could be a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States