Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe...for all of you "health conscious" chefs, you can heat up your 2 cups of milk and whisk the 3 heaping Tbsps of flour into it before pouring it into your soup and the milk wont separate then and it's SUPER creamy still (I also used about 2 1/2 cups of broth instead of 4). Also I use ham instead of bacon...again quite a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This tastes great and makes a great soup for a cold wintery day. I used three fresh corn on the cob instead of the canned corn. I boiled the corn and then cut if from the cob. I also boiled the potatoes on there own and then mashed them and added them to the broth mixture. Because I mashed the potatoes I did not have to make a paste. The soup was creamy and wonderful tasting. I also used my epicure spices, (bacon, chives and cheese) and chicken bouillon base for extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chateaugay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This recipe is absolutely awesome! I added leftover chicken pieces cubed and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Excellent! I had to use a combination of diced ham and real bacon pieces for the bacon, but it was still flavorful. I also used half evaporated milk and half regular milk, and cornstarch (4 Tb. mixed into some of the milk) in place of flour for my gluten-free daughter. I do recommend using low-sodium corn and holding the salt until the end, because there are a lot of salty ingredients and it is hard to adjust. I am not a fan of celery, but I think the celery in this gives a wonderful taste. And COLBY CHEESE-- not cheddar-- puts it over the top for a rich elegant variation! This will be my new standard chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
And I give reviews 5 stars!!! So the changes in the reviews are absolutely right, sub cream or half and half for milk and never soak bacon for 45 minutes, you'll regret it. Personally, I leave the bacon out all together and fry the onion and a red pepper in olive oil. I probably add to many carrots too, but they are good for you :) Great start, just make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is an Awesome Chowder. I modified the recipe slightly by sauteing the onion, carrot and Celery in the bacon grease, and adding minced clove of garlic. All gooking was done in 1 pan - a Dutch Oven. I also used 1 can of condensed milk and topped off with enough regular milk to make the required 2 full cups. Additionally, I made my own chicken stock, and used that. It's a longer overall process, but worth the effort. This version was an instant favorite in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe! I changed a couple of minor things. I fried the bacon and removed before sauteing the vegetables. I used the crumbled bacon on top when serving. I also added some cooked diced chicken to "beef" it up a little for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
only 4 stars because i followed other's suggestions with using half and half instead of milk and adding the bacon at the very end and adding some garlic to the veggies in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Try looking at food network, there is a simalar recipe on there by Ina Garten. This one is a little lacking in good direction! I loved the idea of a previous reviewers idea about making a roux instead of the flour slury! The chowder is very good!!!!! DO NOT ADD BACON UNTIL THE END OR IT WILL GET SOGY! I love this site, but trust me, look at the Ina Garten one and compare notes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States